2024 NCAA DI men's golf championships: schedule and how to watch
02 May 2024
by AmateurGolf.com Staff

see also: Gordon Sargent Rankings

Press release courtesy of the NCAA

The 2024 NCAA DI men's golf championship began with selections on Wednesday, May 1. The championship concludes March 24-29 in Carlsbad, California.

2024 DI men's golf championships schedule
Selection show for regional teams and individuals


Monday, May 13-Wednesday, May 15
The University of Texas Golf Club | Austin, Tex. (Texas, host)
University Club | Baton Rouge, La. (LSU, host)
UNC Finley Golf Course | Chapel Hill, N.C. (UNC, host)
The Farms Golf Club | Rancho Santa Fe, Calif. (San Diego, host)
Stanford Golf Course | Stanford, Calif. (Stanford, host)
Birck Boilermaker Golf Complex | West Lafayette, Ind. (Purdue, host)

National championships

Friday, May 24-Wednesday, May 29
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa | Carlsbad, Calif.

Six 54-hole regional tournaments will be conducted to determine the 30 qualifying teams and six individuals (not on those qualifying teams) who will compete in the finals. Thirteen teams and 10 individuals (not on those teams) will compete at each of the three regionals, while the other three regionals will have 14 teams and five individuals (not on those teams). The lowest five teams and the lowest individual not on those teams will advance to the finals.

All 30 teams and six individuals will complete 54 holes of stroke play. Following 54 holes of competition, the top 15 teams, along with the top nine individuals not on an advancing team, will advance for one additional day of stroke play to determine the top eight teams for match-play competition and the 72-hole stroke-play individual champion. The top eight teams, after 72 holes of play, will be placed into a bracket.

The 2024 national championships will be hosted by the University of Texas at Austin and held at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa.

In the team match-play competition, a total of five points will be available, with one point being awarded for each individual match. Winning teams will advance to the semifinals and subsequently, the finals. The first team to win three points within the team match will advance or, in the case of the final match, be declared the national champion.

Vanderbilt and Gordon Sargent are the No. 1 seed in the West Lafayette Regional. Sargent is ranked No. 1 in the Golfweek/AmateurGolf.com World Rankings.

West Lafayette Regional
Hosted by Purdue | Birck Boilermaker Golf Complex

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1.    Vanderbilt
2.    Arizona
3.    Florida
4.    New Mexico
5.    Purdue
6.    San Diego State [Mountain West Conference]
7.    Mississippi State
8.    Indiana
9.    College of Charleston [Coastal Athletic Association]
10.    Stetson 
11.    Colorado State
12.    Southern Illinois [Missouri Valley Conference]
13.    Tennessee Tech [Ohio Valley Conference]

Individuals (seeded in the following order):
1.    Caleb VanArragon, Valparaiso
2.    Hunter Thomson, Michigan 
3.    Cameron Huss, Wisconsin 
4.    Barend Botha, Toledo 
5.    Valentin Peugnet, Illinois State 
6.    Owen Stamper, Middle Tennessee
7.    Alex McCulla, Illinois State
8.    Ty Gingerich, Cincinnati 
9.    Luke Fuller, Western Kentucky 
10.  Ben Ortwein, Rider 

Baton Rouge Regional
Hosted by LSU | University Club

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1.    Auburn [Southeastern Conference]
2.    Virginia
3.    Texas Tech
4.    Oregon
5.    Duke
6.    Ohio State
7.    LSU
8.    Louisville
9.    Houston 
10.    South Carolina
11.    Lipscomb [ASUN Conference] 
12.    Yale [The Ivy League]
13.    Loyola Maryland [Patriot League]
14.    Arkansas-Pine Bluff [Southwestern Athletic Conference]

Individuals (seeded in the following order):
1.    Alex Goff, Kentucky
2.    Max Sturdza, Florida Atlantic
3.    Niilo Maki-Petaja, Louisiana Tech
4.    Hugo Thyr, South Alabama 
5.    Archie Smith, Little Rock 

Chapel Hill Regional
Hosted by North Carolina | Finley Golf Club

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1.    North Carolina [Atlantic Coast Conference]
2.    Alabama
3.    Georgia Tech
4.    East Tennessee State [Southern Conference]
5.    Northwestern [Big Ten Conference]
6.    Baylor
7.    VCU [Atlantic 10 Conference]
8.    LMU
9.    Long Beach State [Big West Conference]
10.    Clemson
11.    Michigan State
12.    Ball State [Mid-American Conference]
13.    Howard [Northeast Conference]

Individuals (seeded in the following order):
1.    Tobias Jonsson, Mercer 
2.    Walker Isley, UNCW
3.    Nick Mathews, NC State
4.    Conor Gough, Charlotte
5.    Will Davis, Davidson
6.    Spencer Oxendine, NC State
7.    Erik Johansson, Campbell
8.    Claes Borregaard, Kennesaw State
9.    Justin LaRue, Longwood 
10.   Fred Roberts IV, High Point 

Austin Regional
Hosted by Texas | The University of Texas Golf CLub

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1.    Tennessee
2.    Arkansas
3.    Texas [Big 12 Conference]
4.    Georgia
5.    Wake Forest
6.    Notre Dame
7.    UNC Greensboro
8.    Brigham Young 
9.    Utah
10.    San Jose State
11.    Grand Canyon [Western Athletic Conference]
12.    Arkansas State [Sun Belt Conference]
13.    Kansas City [The Summit League]

Individuals (seeded in the following order):
1.    Gustav Frimodt, TCU 
2.    Luke Gutschewski, Iowa State 
3.    Hunter Bott, UTSA 
4.    Cooper Schultz, Kansas State 
5.    Kobe Valociek, Virginia Tech 
6.    Joseph Sullivan, Florida Gulf Coast
7.    Erik Jansson, Jacksonville State 
8.    Justin Biwer, Colorado 
9.    Alexandre Vandermoten, Jacksonville 
10.  Peicheng Chen, St. John’s 

Stanford Regional
Hosted by Stanford | Stanford Golf Course

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1.    Florida State
2.    Ole Miss
3.    Illinois
4.    Texas A&M
5.    Stanford
6.    UCLA
7.    SMU
8.    Missouri
9.    Fresno State
10.    UNLV
11.    Augusta University [Southland Conference]
12.    Liberty [Conference USA]
13.    Sacramento State [Big Sky Conference]
14.    Siena [Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference]

Individuals (seeded in the following order):
1.    Enrique Dimayuga, Nevada
2.    Ben Warian, Minnesota
3.    Jakob Melin, San Francisco
4.    Cole Rueck, Boise State 
5.    Joe Sykes, Idaho 

Rancho Santa Fe Regional
Hosted by San Diego | The Farms Golf Club

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1.    Arizona State [Pac-12 Conference]
2.    Washington
3.    Oklahoma
4.    California
5.    Oklahoma State
6.    North Florida 
7.    Chattanooga
8.    South Florida [American Athletic Conference]
9.    San Diego [West Coast Conference]
10.   West Virginia
11.   Kansas 
12.   Wright State [Horizon League]
13.   Seton Hall [Big East Conference]
14.   Winthrop [Big South Conference]

Individuals (seeded in the following order):
1.    Mahanth Chirravuri, Pepperdine
2.    Tegan Andrews, Cal State Fullerton 
3.    William Walsh, Pepperdine
4.    Brady Siravo, Pepperdine
5.    Kevin Li, Seattle University 

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube