Florida Azalea: Lance LaCombe prevails in the Sunshine state
17 Mar 2024
by Justin Golba of

see also: View results for Florida Azalea, Palatka Golf Club, Lance Lacombe Rankings

Lance LaCombe (Palatka Golf Club Photo)
Lance LaCombe (Palatka Golf Club Photo)

Lance LaCombe of Jacksonville, Fla., shot a final round even par 70 to win the 2024 Florida Azalea Amateur at Palatka Golf Club in Palatka, Fla. 

LaCombe finished 7-under, two shots better than Giuseppe Puebla of West Palm Beach, Fla., who finished in solo second place at 5-under.

LaCombe secured a two-shot lead at 7-under after a first-round 3-under 67 and a second-round 4-under 66. He recorded four birdies, two bogeys, and an eagle on the par-5 No. 10 in the second round. He started his round with three birdies on the first five holes but cooled off after that. 

The Jacksonville native finished T9 in the 2023 Florida Azalea Amateur. 

Carson Brewer wins the Florida Azalea Amateur

Troy Vannucci of Marlton, N.J., finished in solo third place at 4-under. Vannucci is ranked No. 260 in the Golfweek/ U.S. Rankings.

Vannucci has had some close calls in this tournament, finishing in solo second place at this tournament in 2023 and in 2022. He also finished T6 at the 2023 New Jersey State Amateur and made the match play portion of the 2023 U.S. Mid Amateur.

Justin Burroughs of Pensacola, Fla., and Ty Capps of Palm Coast, Fla., finished T4 at 2-under, and Camden Goldknopf of Ponte Vedra, Fla., a William and Mary commit, and Jack VanderSchuur of Tampa, Fla., finished T6 at even par.

Capps, who played his college golf at the University of Nebraska, played in the 2006 U.S. Amateur Championship at Hazeltine National Golf Club in Chaska, Minn. The U.S. Amateur returns to Hazeltine in 2024. 

Alejandro Ramos of Jacksonville, Fla., Justin Sui of Lake Orion, Mich., and Henry Robards of Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla., rounded out the top ten, finishing T8 at 2-over.

2022 champion Cody Carroll of Jacksonville, Fla., finished T11 at 3-over.

Results: Florida Azalea
1FLLance LacombeJacksonville, FL30067-66-70=203
2FLGiuseppe PueblaW. Palm Beach, FL20068-68-69=205
3NJTroy VannucciMarlton, NJ10071-65-70=206
T4FLJustin BurroughsPensacola, FL10068-69-71=208
T4FLTy CappsPalm Coast, FL10066-69-73=208

View full results for Florida Azalea

ABOUT THE Florida Azalea

The Florida Azalea was started in 1958 as a two-man team tourney. The field has, over the years, boasted players who have gone on to greatness at the professional level. Tommy Aaron, who teamed with Dan Sykes for the 1960 Florida Azalea team title, went on to win the 1973 Masters. And Bob Murphy, winner of back-to-back Florida Azalea titles while playing for the University of Florida golf team in 1965-66, was an 11-time winner on the PGA Tour.

The 220-man Azalea field competes in one of six flights. The first flight is Championship, with a cut after 36-holes. The next five flights are Net.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube