Haskins Award: Final fall 2022-23 watch list
24 Oct 2022
by Golfweek

see also: Fred Haskins Award, Haskins Foundation / ANNIKA Award

As the fall season winds to a close, it’s time to recognize players who set themselves apart as frontrunners in men’s college golf over the past two and a half months.

Gordon Sargent, who won the NCAA individual title as a freshman at Vanderbilt last season, has started strong in his sophomore campaign, but there are plenty of other golfers who are off to strong starts, too.

The Haskins Award honors the player of the year in college men’s golf, as selected by college golfers, coaches and members of the college golf media. The players are listed alphabetically. Players on the Haskins Award Watch List were chosen by a panel of Golfweek and Golf Channel reporters.

Final Fall Haskins Award Watch List
Ludvig Aberg, Texas Tech
Cole Anderson, Florida State
Jonas Baumgartner, Oklahoma State
Canon Claycomb, Alabama
Adrien Dumont de Chassart, Illinois
Caden Fioroni, UNLV
David Ford, North Carolina
Austin Greaser, North Carolina
Benjamin James, Virginia
Ryggs Johnston, Arizona State
Tommy Kuhl, Illinois
Christiaan Maas, Texas
Maxwell Moldovan, Ohio State
Matthew Riedel, Vanderbilt
Daniel Rodrigues, Texas A&M
Gordon Sargent, Vanderbilt
Calum Scott, Texas Tech
Cole Sherwood, Vanderbilt
Caleb Surratt, Tennessee
Michael Thorbjornsen, Stanford

About the Fred Haskins Award
Celebrating its 53rd year, the Fred Haskins Award presented by Stifel has been given to players who have captured 33 major championships and more than 400 professional tournaments around the world. Past recipients include Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Ben Crenshaw, and Justin Thomas. Chris Gotterup (Oklahoma) won the 52nd Haskins Award in 2022. The Fred Haskins Award is the oldest individual college golf award and the only award to be voted on by players, coaches, golf SID's, and select golf media. Golf Channel and Golfweek are media partners for the Fred Haskins Award.

Stifel, one of the nation’s leading wealth management and investment banking firms, serves as the presenting sponsor of both the ANNIKA and Haskins Awards, recognizing annually the most outstanding NCAA Division I female and male college golfers. Stifel also serves as a presenting sponsor for the NCAA Division I Women’s and Men’s Golf Championships on GOLF Channel.

ABOUT THE Haskins Award

Since 1971, the Haskins Award honors the most outstanding male college golfer each year. It is named in memory of Fred Haskins, former golf teaching professional at the Country Club of Columbus (Georgia) who devoted his life to nurturing and mentoring amateur players.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube