After 83 years popular 4th of July event played for the last time
- Frankie Frisco / Arkansas Democrat Gazette photo
- Frankie Frisco / Arkansas Democrat Gazette photo

The 4th of July Classic has been staged at War Memorial Golf Course in Little Rock, Arkansas since 1937. But with the city cutting over $2 million out of its budget, the golf course and by extension the tournament will be no more.

The tournament has a rich history, whose past champions include PGA champion Rich Beem and U.S. Senior Amateur champions Stan and Louis Lee. It has long been a popular stop for the state's best players, who have enjoyed not only the history and camaraderie of the event, but also the chance to shoot some low numbers on the quirky par-64 layout.

Chris Jenkins holds the record for the most championships won with ten, including five straight coming into this year.

In the final playing, for University of Arkansas player Beau Glover looked to be headed for a fourth runner-up finish without ever winning, but a shock ending put his name on the trophy for the first and only time.

Rodrigo Rivas, a 2018 graduate of the University of Central Arkansas, was on the final green needing just two putts from 16 feet to win. He would take four.

>> Read the account of the final day of the final playing of the 83rd 4th of July Classic at War Memorial GC

>> Read more about the history and the end of this popular event

ABOUT THE 4th of July Championship

Long-running stroke play tournament that was held for years at War Memorial GC in Little Rock but moves to Hot Springs in 2020. Stroke play championship with three age brackets for older players (Mid-Seniors, Seniors, Super Seniors) plus match play brackets for net players.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube