Haskins Award Watch List: Norman Xiong the New #1
Norman Xiong has a three-tournament winning streak (Oregon University photo)
Norman Xiong has a three-tournament winning streak (Oregon University photo)

COLUMBUS, GA (April 12, 2018) - Norman Xiong has propelled himself to the top position of the Fred Haskins Award Watch list, released today, April 12. The Haskins Award is given each year to the nation's best college golfer, and is voted on by players, coaches, golf-specific sports information directors and media.

The Oregon sophomore was 17th on the last list released just three weeks ago, but he was reeled off three wins in a row since.

First, he closed with a 64 to win the Duck Invitational by a shot. The next week he blitzed TPC Harding Park for a six-shot win at The Goodwin. He then won the Western Intercollegiate in a three-way playoff over Collin Morikawa and George Cunningham.

Morikawa, a junior at Cal, moves to #2 on the list, up one from the previous release. Morikawa made the cut in last month's PGA Tour Arnold Palmer Invitational, and has two wins for the Bears this season.

Justin Suh, a junior from USC, topped the previous list but dropped to #3 in today's release. Suh has had a breakout year for the Trojans, winning four times.

Braden Thornberry of Ole Miss, who won the NCAA Championship and is currently #1 in the Golfweek/AmateurGolf.com World Amateur Ranking, was last year's Haskins Award winner. Other winners of the award include Tiger Woods and Phil Mickelson.

Fred Haskins Award Watch List, April 12

1. Norman Xiong, Oregon
2. Collin Morikawa, Cal
3. Justin Suh, USC
4. Viktor Hovland, Oklahoma State
5. Fred Nilehn, Texas Tech
6. Matt Wolff, Oklahoma State
7. Braden Thornberry, Ole Miss
8. Chandler Phillips, Texas A&M
9. Theo Humphrey, Vanderbilt
10. Lee Hodges, Alabama
11. Doug Ghim, Texas
12. Brad Dalke, Oklahoma
13. Zach Bauchou, Oklahoma State
14. Garrett May, Baylor
15. Kyle Mueller, Michigan
16. Davis Riley, Alabama
17. John Pak, Florida State
18. Hayden Buckley, Missouri
19. Shintaro Ban, UNLV
20. Stephen Franken, N.C. State

Voting for the Haskins Award will open at the conclusion of the NCAA Regionals and will end at the conclusion of the NCAA Championships in Stillwater, OK.

ABOUT THE Haskins Award

Since 1971, the Haskins Award honors the most outstanding male college golfer each year. It is named in memory of Fred Haskins, former golf teaching professional at the Country Club of Columbus (Georgia) who devoted his life to nurturing and mentoring amateur players.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube