Haskins Award Watch List: Justin Suh on Top
The top 8: Suh, Hovland, Morikawa, Nilehn, Riley, Wolff, Dalke, Humphrey
The top 8: Suh, Hovland, Morikawa, Nilehn, Riley, Wolff, Dalke, Humphrey

COLUMBUS, GA (March 22, 2018) - Justin Suh tops the Fred Haskins Award Watch list, released today, March 22. The Haskins Award is given each year to the nation's best college golfer, and is voted on by players, coaches, golf-specific sports information directors and media.

Braden Thornberry of Ole Miss, who won the NCAA Championship and is currently #1 in the Golfweek/AmateurGolf.com World Amateur Ranking, was last year's Haskins Award winner. Other winners of the award include Tiger Woods and Phil Mickelson.

Suh, a junior from USC, has had a breakout year for the Trojans, winning four times and rising to #2 in the GW/AGC World Ranking, behind only Thornberry.

Victor Hovland, a sophomore at #1 ranked Oklahoma State, has risen to #2 on the Haskins Watch List, on the strength of his win at this week's Valspar Collegiate.

Collin Morikawa, a junior at Cal, sits at #3. Morikawa made the cut in last week's PGA Tour Arnold Palmer Invitational, and has two wins for the Bears this season.

Fred Haskins Award Watch List, March 22

1. Justin Suh, USC
2. Viktor Hovland, Oklahoma State
3. Collin Morikawa, Cal
4. Fred Nilehn, Texas Tech
5. Davis Riley, Alabama
6. Matt Wolff, Oklahoma State
7. Brad Dalke, Oklahoma
8. Theo Humphrey, Vanderbilt
9. Shintaro Ban, UNLV
10. Kyle Mueller, Michigan
11. Garrett May, Baylor
12. Lee Hodges, Alabama
13. Chandler Phillips, Texas A&M
14. Doug Ghim, Texas
15. Braden Thornberry, Ole Miss
16. Stephen Franken, N.C. State
17. Norman Xiong, Oregon
18. Steven Fisk, Georgia Southern
19. Hayden Buckley, Missouri
20. John Pak, Florida State

Voting for the Haskins Award will open at the conclusion of the NCAA Regionals and will end at the conclusion of the NCAA Championships in Stillwater, OK.

ABOUT THE Haskins Award

Since 1971, the Haskins Award honors the most outstanding male college golfer each year. It is named in memory of Fred Haskins, former golf teaching professional at the Country Club of Columbus (Georgia) who devoted his life to nurturing and mentoring amateur players.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube