Brian Ma to face Seb Crookall-Nixon in SF City Championship Final
Seb Crookall-Nixon <br>(San Francisco Athletics Photo)
Seb Crookall-Nixon
(San Francisco Athletics Photo)

SAN FRANCISCO, CA (March 18, 2017) -- After weeks of play the finals of the San Francisco City Championship's at TPC Harding Park have finally been set. In the Championship Division the final will feature No. 32 Brian Ma and No. 6 Seb Crookall-Nixon.

On Saturday the Championship Division featured the quarterfinal and semifinal matches with the winners now set to meet in Sunday's 36-hole final.

Ma made his way to the title match thanks to a 6&5 quarterfinal win over No. 9 Grayson Huff. To begin the match Ma won the first two holes to go 2 up and then never looked back wrapping things up on the 13th.

In his semifinal tilt Ma was able to take down 52-seed Ned Jensen 2&1 and punch his ticket into the Sunday final.

His opponent, former University of San Francisco golfer, Seb Crookall-Nixon started is day day with 3&2 triumph over No. 19 Jason Anthony in the quarters. In the match Crookall-Nixon fell behind early and after nine holes he was 2 down but he would win the 10th hole and then Nos. 12-15 to take the lead before closing out the match on the 16th hole.

Things were a little bit easier in the afternoon for Crookall-Nixon as he led 2 up after two holes and never trailed in the match. His opponent, No. 7 Brandon Jacobs, squared the match on the 8th hole but Crookall-Nixon responded by winning the next three holes.

He then closed out the match with a 17th hole win.


Defending champion Sabrina Iqbal continued her march towards a repeat with quarterfinal and semifinal wins on Saturday. In the quarters she bested No. 9 Sammy Lee 3&2 and then 13-seed Jasmine Chen 5&4 in the semifinals.

Iqbal will now face No. 15 Kiran Sangha in Sunday's 36-hole championship match after she battled her way through two tough matches on Saturday.

In the quarterfinals Sangha escaped with 2&1 win over 10-seed Aishvarya Bedi and then in the semifinals she survived a 20 hole marathon match against No. 14 Ashley Shim.

The Women's Championship Division also includes the Julie Inkster Flight and the title match will see No. 5 Cynthia Zhang face No. 10 Marie Dean.


Top-seed Gary Vanier moved on once again after his semifinal win and he will now square off against 26-seed Rich Rowley in the finals.

Vanier had to battle to punch his ticket to the next round as he outlasted No. 20 Bob Burnett in 19 holes. After Vanier lost the final hole of regulation, Burnett knocked his approach shot on the first extra hole to four-feet. However, Vanier answered with a shot to 12-feet and he promptly knocked in the putt to apply some pressure on Burnett. Now facing a putt to extend the match, Burnett rolled his putt by and Vanier was able to move on.

For Rowley it was a 2 up win over No. 22 Jeff Britton.


The final in Super Senior Championship will be between nine-seed Ron Johnson and three-seed Tom O'Grady.

On Saturday Johnson pulled off a 4&3 semifinal victory over No. 9 Jack Bieber while O'Grady moved on with a 2&1 win over No. 7 Mark Miller.

*Played at Lincoln Park GC

Ken Venturi Flight
No. 4 James McGGilley vs. No. 6 Ken Harrington

John Susko Flight
No. 8 Kevin Nalty vs. No. 11 Drew Walker

George Archer Flight
No. 16 Shoe Sugiyama No. 14 Abi Vickram

Harvie Ward Flight
No. 5 Daniel Sheridan vs. No. 3 Andrew Pinkerton

Ray Pellegrini Flight
No. 9 David Simmons vs.No. 3 Phil Pineda

Sandy Tatum Flight
No. 16 Michael Redman vs. No. 6 Matthew Didden

Results: San Francisco City Championship
WinCABrian MaMilpitas, CA180
Runner-upEnglandSeb Crookall-NixonEngland120
SemifinalsCANed JensenSan Francisco, CA80
SemifinalsCABrandon JacobsThousand Oaks, CA80
QuarterfinalsIDGraysen HuffEagle, ID50

View full results for San Francisco City Championship

ABOUT THE San Francisco City Championship


*An NCGA Points Tournament*

**Entry procedure for 2023: Exempt players will have first chance to register. They will be emailed an access code to register, and registration for these players opens on January 3. Registration opens for all other players on January 15.

Exempt players may email results@amateurgolf.com to request an access code.

Exemption categories:

* The past 10 years of the San Francisco City Golf Champions
* 2022 San Francisco City Men’s Championship Match Play Qualifiers
* Top 20 men’s 2021-2022 NCGA Points Lists
* 2022 NCGA Champions (Amateur, Mid-Amateur, Junior)
* 2022 USGA Event Qualifiers (Amateur, Mid- Amateur, Junior)

On January 15 at 8:00 am, registration will open to all players with a handicap index of 6.4 or lower as of the date of entry, and will remain open until the field limit (120 players) is reached. When the field limit is reached, all additional entrants will pre-qualify at Presidio Golf Club on Friday, March 10, 2023.

Players entering pre-qualifying will pay an entry fee of $150 for the pre-qualifier, and those advancing from the pre-qualifier will pay an additional $225 (must be paid prior to playing).

The 36-hole match play qualifier will be held March 11-12, 2023, with 18 holes played at TPC Harding Park and 18 holes at Presidio Golf Course for a combined 36-hole qualifying score.

There will be 156 players in the qualifying round with 64 players advancing to match play. When all qualifying has been completed, the Men’s Championship Flight will consist of 64 contestants. In the event of a playoff to qualify for match play, a player must be present in order to retain his right to participate in the playoff.

Match play will begin on March 18, 2023. All match play for the Championship Flight will be held at TPC Harding Park.

The use of carts is prohibited for players and caddies in the Men’s Championship Flight (Appendix I – Local Rule Applies)

A schedule of all dates of play can be found on the tournament website sfgolfchampionship.com.

The oldest municipal tournament in the USA. Match play event with scratch men's, senior men’s, women's, senior women’s, and open flight divisions. Past champions include Ken Venturi, Harvie Ward, Juli Inkster, Bob Rosburg, George Archer, and Dorothy Delasin. Some of the “non winners” include Tom Watson and Johnny Miller. Click the “history” tab for more about this wonderful event.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram