Carlton Forrester wins Crump Cup
Carlton Forrester
Carlton Forrester

PINE VALLEY, N.J. — Carlton Forrester of Atlanta, Ga. won the 91st annual George Arthur Crump Memorial Tournament, capturing the second Crump Cup title of his career.

The former Georgia Tech golfer, who played for the Yellow Jackets from 1997 to 2000, first won the Crump Cup in 2006. The year was an impressive one for him, as he had also earned medalist honors at the U.S. Mid-Amateur — a year after losing in the championship match to Kevin Marsh.

Forrester used two separate 2-up victories on Sunday, against Arnie Cutrell of Greensburg, Pa. and Patrick Carter of Huntington, W.V., to win his second career Cup.

Forrester lost holes 13 and 14 to Carter to go 2-down, but punched an iron from underneath a tree at the 15th to 5-feet, making birdie to cut his deficit in half. He won the 16th hole to bring the match back to all-square, birdied 17 to go 1-up, and got up-and-down out of the greenside bunker at 18 to win his fourth hole in a row and close out the win.

RELATED: Saturday Recap from Pine Valley

Forrester's championship match competitor Carter was the 16-seed entering match play and handed a 2-and-1 defeat to the tournament's medalist Brad Nurski of St. Joseph, Missouri. Nurski, the 2014 U.S. Mid-Amateur runner-up, shot rounds of 71 and 70 during the 36-hole qualifying to secure the top seed before being upset in the round of 16.

In the Senior Division, Glenn Smeraglio of Newtown, Pa. routed David Nelson of Reno, Nev. 7-and-6 for the victory. In the morning, Smeraglio defeated Martin West 4-and-3, while Nelson needed 19 holes to knock off John McClure.

Full results from all flights can be found at the link below.

Results: Crump Cup
WinGACarlton ForresterAtlanta, GA400
Runner-upWVPatrick CarterHuntington, WV300
SemifinalsPAArnie CutrellGreensburg, PA200
SemifinalsNJMatthew MattareJersey City, NJ200
QuarterfinalsIAGene ElliottW. Des Moines, IA100

View full results for Crump Cup


The George A. Crump Memorial Tournament -- named for the hotelier and course architect most famous for building Pine Valley -- is arguably the premier mid- amateur event in the United States. The invitational field is made of of top players from around the United States and the UK. The format for the four days is two rounds of stroke play qualifying, followed by four rounds of match play. Players are flighted according to their qualifying position, and a separate Senior flight includes three of those flights. Jay Sigel has won the event the most times, with nine victories between 1975 and 1993.

Normally, the public is invited to attend the Sunday final matches but that tradition has been suspended.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram