Match play kicks off at 'The City'
Justin Suh
Justin Suh

Senior Division Coverage: CLICK HERE »
SAN FRANCISCO, Calif. (Feb. 22, 2014) -- Match play is underway at the San Francisco City Championship, the oldest municipal championship in the nation.

Defending champion Will Brueckner received a bye during the Round of 64, which played out on Saturday at Presidio Golf Course, but did learn who is opponent will be Sunday when the remaining 32 players do battle. Brueckner will face Shintaro Ban, the high schooler and recent UNLV commit. Ban, the 32 seed, dispatched of Albert Schopplein on Saturday.

On the other side of the bracket, upsets prevailed. No. 2 seed and stroke-play qualifying medalist Kris Server was knocked off by No. 63 seed Owen Hutchison, 2-and-1. Hutchison will face St. Mary's College golfer Jonathan de los Reyes, the No. 34 seed, who defeated Sean Barrett.

No. 3 seed Justin Suh advanced, though. He was a 2-and-1 winner over Jay Pinkos. He'll go on to face Daniel Connolly.

Isaiah Salinda, who finished as the runner-up to Brueckner last year, moved into the Round of 32 as the No. 14 seed. He beat Robert Briggs, 2-and-1, on Saturday.

Matches in the Round of 32 begin at 7:30 Sunday with the winners moving on to next weekend's Round of 16 and quarterfinals. The semifinals and championship matches will be played the following weekend, March 8-9.

For a full rundown of the day's matches and a look at the match-play bracket, use the link below.

Amateurgolf.com will have continuing coverage of the San Francisco City Championship.

Results: San Francisco City Championship
WinCAShintaro BanSan Jose, CA180
Runner-upCARick ReinsbergLafayette, CA120
SemifinalsCARyan KnopPleasanton, CA80
SemifinalsCARyan WilsonSan Francisco, CA80
QuarterfinalsCAIan CoffmanSan Diego, CA50

View full results for San Francisco City Championship

ABOUT THE San Francisco City Championship

** The qualifying field for the San Francisco City Men's Championship qualifier has been reached 120 players. Players may enter the Pre-Qualifier here. Please see below for a description of the entry process.


Match Play qualifying will be held February 15-16, 2020 and will consist of 36 holes played at TPC Harding Park and Lincoln Park Golf Courses.

From November 1 - November 30, registration will be open only for exempt players under the following categories:

* The Past Ten years of San Francisco City Champions
* 2019 San Francisco City Men’s Championship Match Play Qualifiers
* Top 20 Individuals 2018-2019 NCGA Points Lists
* 2019 NCGA Champions (Amateur, Mid-Amateur, Junior)
* 2019 USGA Event Qualifiers (Amateur, Mid- Amateur, Junior)

On December 1 at 8:00am, registration will open to all players with a handicap index of 6.4 or lower as of 12/01/2019, and will remain open until the field limit is reached. Once the field limit is reached, all additional entrants will pre-qualify at Lincoln Park on Friday, February 14.

Those entering pre-qualifying will pay an entry fee of $150 for the pre-qualifier, and those advancing from the pre-qualifier will pay an additional $150.

Once all qualifying has been completed, the Men’s Championship Flight will consist of 32 contestants -- the defending champion if entered (who will be the #2 seed), and the remainder from the Men’s Championship qualifier.

If the defending champion wishes to play in qualifying for Medalist honors, he loses the #2 seed and will be seeded accordingly if he qualifies successfully.

*In the event of a playoff for match play a player must be present in order to retain his right to participate in the playoff.

Match play will begin on February 22, 2019. All match play for the Championship Flight will be held at TPC Harding Park.

The oldest municipal tournament in the USA. Match play event with scratch men's, senior, women's, senior women's and open flight divisions. Past champions include Ken Venturi, Harvie Ward, Juli Inkster, Bob Rosburg, George Archer, and Dorothy Delasin. Some of the 'non winners' include Tom Watson and Johnny Miller. Click the 'history' tab for more about this wonderful event.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube