Ohio State and Northwestern Share Big Ten Women's Title
Ohio State celebrates third straight Big Ten title <br>(Ohio State University Photo)</br>
Ohio State celebrates third straight Big Ten title
(Ohio State University Photo)

INDIANAPOLIS, IN (April 24, 2016) - Ohio State and Northwestern both finished the 54-hole Big Ten Women's Championship at The Fort Golf Resort 12-under and for the second straight year are co-league champions. Purdue (-5) finished third and was led by medalist winner August Kim. Illinois and Wisconsin tied for fourth at 2-under.

Ohio State was paced by second place finisher, junior Katja Pogacar (-8). A first team All-Big Ten performer last year, Pogacer shot rounds of 69-72-67 and finished one shot behind Kim in the medalist race. Her final day 5-under 67 included six birdies and a closing hole bogey that ultimately cost her a share of the individual award.

In all four Buckeyes finished inside the top-20, including junior Jessica Porvasnik (-4) who ended the tournament tied for seventh.

The co-champions of Northwestern also put four players inside the top-20, along with two in the top-10. Freshman Stephanie Lau (-5) led the Wildcats tying for fourth while last years Big Ten Freshman of the Year and Player of the Year Hannah Kim (-3) was tied for ninth.

Medalist winner August Kim posted three under-par rounds on her way to the title. After rounds of 69 and 71 Kim saved her best round for last as she closed with a bogey-free 5-under 67. Kim, a junior, began the day in sixth place but rose quickly during her five birdie final round. The final birdie of the day came on the 18th and sealed the deal for Kim.

Results For Big Ten Women's Golf Championship
1FLAugust KimSt. Augustine, FL80069-71-67=207
2SloveniaKatja PogacarSlovenia50069-72-67=208
3WIBrooke FerrellEdgerton, WI40065-72-72=209
T4IAAmy IhmPeosta, IA40073-70-68=211
T4ILBing SinghsumaleeNaperville, IL40072-71-68=211

View full results for Big Ten Women's Golf Championship

ABOUT THE Big Ten Women's Championship

54-hole stroke-play event to decide the women's golf champion of the Big 10 Conference. Team (best four scores out of six players each round) and individual competitions.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube