Craig Watson named captain of GB&I Walker Cup team
Craig Watson named Walker Cup captain for GB&I<br><i>Picture: Scottish Golf/Kenny Smith Photography</i>
Craig Watson named Walker Cup captain for GB&I
Picture: Scottish Golf/Kenny Smith Photography

The 1997 winner of the British Amateur at Royal St. George’s and Walker Cup team member that same year, 49-year old Scot Craig Watson will serve as captain in 2017 as the Walker Cup goes back to America.

The Cup will be played at the Los Angeles Country Club on September 9th and 10th, 2017.

“Playing in the Walker Cup team is one of my proudest moments in golf,” said Watson.“I still remember the nerve-wracking moment when I teed it up on the first tee in the afternoon singles on the first day but I settled down and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It is a privilege for me to take over the captaincy of the team and I have a hard act to follow as Nigel did a fantastic job.

“I am looking forward to getting started and to making sure we put out the strongest team we can next year in Los Angeles. It is a hugely exciting time for amateur golf and you only have to look at the performances of the amateurs in The Open at St Andrews last year to see how competitive the game is at the moment.”

“Craig is a well-known and highly respected figure in the amateur game and will bring a great deal of experience and knowledge to the role of Captain,” said Andy Ingram, Chairman of The R&A’s Men’s Selection Committee, said. “As a former Walker Cup and St Andrews Trophy player himself, he knows just what it means to represent GB&I and I’m sure he will relish the opportunity to work with the players in both teams. ”

Randa.org contributed to this article

ABOUT THE The Walker Cup

The Walker Cup Match is a biennial 10-man amateur team competition between the USA and a team composed of players from Great Britain and Ireland and selected by The R&A. It is played over two days with 18 singles matches and eight foursomes (alternate-shot) matches.

The first United States Walker Cup Team, which in 1922 defeated the GB&I side, 8-4, at the National Golf Links of America, is considered among the best teams ever and included Francis Ouimet, Bob Jones, Charles “Chick” Evans and Jess Sweetser. Many of the game’s greatest players have taken part in Walker Cup competition, including U.S. Open champions Jack Nicklaus, Tiger Woods and Jordan Spieth for the USA and Graeme McDowell, Rory McIlroy and Justin Rose for Great Britain and Ireland.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube