Endycott and Choi Earn Wins at Lake Macquarie Amateur
Harrison Endycott
Harrison Endycott

MARK'S POINT, NSW, Australia (January 23, 2016) -- Soft and calm conditions yielded very low rounds at the Lake Macquarie Amateur. Most notable was New South Wales native Harrison Endycott's 68 which was enough for a two shot victory.

Endycott entered the final round trailing Ben Ferguson who held the lead through the first three rounds. Ferguson, a native of West Australia, faltered early with a double bogey on his first hole. Endycott took advantage, making three birdies on the front nine and tacking on three more on the back nine to close things out at 12-under par.

Charlie Dann fired an impressive bogey-free 67 to climb to solo second. Dylan Perry did him one better with a bogey-free 66 that tied the round of the day and vaulted him into a tie for 5th.

In the women's division, South Korea's Hye-Jin Choi shot a lights out 65 to shatter the course record by three shots and win by the same margin. Choi made five birdies on the front nine and added three on the back for a bogey-free effort and a 13-under par total (par 73).

Australian Women's Amateur champion Min-Ji Park held the overnight lead but her final round 69 wouldn't be enough to withstand Choi's charge. She took solo second honors with a 10-under par total.

Results For Lake Macquarie Amateur Golf Championship
1AustraliaHarrison EndycottAustralia100069-70-69-68=276
2AustraliaCharlie DannAustralia70070-68-73-67=278
T3New ZealandLuke ToomeyNew Zealand50073-68-70-68=279
T3EnglandBradley MooreEngland50068-68-73-70=279
T5AustraliaDylan PerryAustralia50070-69-75-66=280

View full results for Lake Macquarie Amateur Golf Championship

ABOUT THE Lake Macquarie Amateur

Historic 72-hole stroke play championship with a cut after 36 holes; The Lake Macquarie Amateur was first played in 1958, and past winners includes the likes of Peter O’Malley (1986), Stephen Leaney (1992), Geoff Ogilvy (1997), Brett Rumford (1998), Nick Dougherty (2001), Chris Campbell (2002), Jarrod Lyle (2003-4), Marc Leishman (2005) and more recently, Danny Lee (2008).

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube