U.S. Women's State Team Golf Championship
September 26 - 28 2017
Santa Fe, NM



The Club at Las Campanas - Sunrise
132 Clubhouse Dr
Santa Fe, NM  87506-2109
phone: (505) 995-3535 or (800) 241-9400
url: www.lascampanas.com

Tournament Overview

The USGA State Team Championships grew out of the Association's Centennial Celebration in 1995, and have been held on an every-other- year basis since. 52 men’s teams (including teams from Puerto Rico and the District of Columbia) compete for the trophy named in honor of former USGA President James Hand. Fifty women’s teams compete for the trophy named for past USGA President Judy Bell.

State golf associations select three of their top non-college amateurs to represent them in this biennial team championship. The top two scores of the three players count toward the team total for each of the three days.

Login To See More

AmateurGolf.com members see additional tournament information including news, past scoring, tournament registrations, and more. Login or signup to take advantage of all the information available for this tournament.

Results Archive:

Showing results for

Place  PtsScores
1MAShannon JohnsonFoxborough, MA60071-70-71=212
T2MISarah HoffmanSaline, MI36073-72-73=218
T2GAEmilie MeasonAtlanta, GA36069-73-76=218
T2PABrynn WalkerRadnor, PA36071-76-71=218
T2UTKelsey ChuggOgden, UT36075-71-72=218
T6FLMeghan StasiOakland Park, FL9071-71-78=220
T6MATara Joy-ConnellyPembroke, MA9067-75-78=220
T6VALauren GreenliefOakton, VA9072-73-75=220
T6NMDominique GallowayRio Rancho, NM9069-72-79=220
T6GAMargaret Shirley-StarostoRoswell, GA9070-73-77=220
T6ORKate HarperTualatin, OR9072-72-76=220
12ALMichaela MorardHuntsville, AL7575-70-77=222
T13SCMallory HetzelSummerville, SC7574-74-75=223
T13INJulia PotterGranger, IN7574-77-72=223
T15TNAubree JonesCovington, TN7576-75-74=225
T15MDAneka SeumanutafaFrederick, MD7572-77-76=225
T15KSErin CarneyKS7576-72-77=225
T18MNKatherine SmithDetroit Lakes, MN6076-73-77=226
T18SCDawn WoodardGreer, SC6073-76-77=226
T18ORAmanda JacobsPortland, OR6071-77-78=226
T21NCCourtney McKimRaleigh, NC5076-72-79=227
T21GALauren LightfritzForsyth, GA5071-81-75=227
T23MNOlivia HerrickWhite Bear Lake, MN5077-74-77=228
T23SCRiley RennellColumbia, SC5075-77-76=228
T23PAAurora KanBoothwyn, PA5076-78-74=228
T26MOEllen PortSt. Louis, MO5077-76-76=229
T26VAAlexandra AustinBurke, VA5072-78-79=229
T26NMJacquelyn GallowayRio Rancho, NM5079-73-77=229
T29LAJulia JohnsonLA5078-74-78=230
T29LAKay DanielCovington, LA5074-73-83=230
T29INCherise OtterIN5075-73-82=230

Results for this tournament are posted outside AmateurGolf.com. Click here to view results.

The USGA Women's State Team Championship, in 1995, like the men's version, grew out of the celebration of the Association's Centennial and was fashioned after the biennial World Amateur Team Championship.

Each state was invited to send its three best players, and 43 states sent women's teams to compete for the new title at the Lake Buena Vista (Fla.) Club. State associations were given the option to choose their teams by any method, with one restriction: college players were ineligible because of NCAA bylaws. The NCAA rule states that a player may only play in an international team match when that team is sponsored by the national governing body, such as the Curtis Cup, or the Women's World Amateur Team Championship. Any infraction of that rule means the college player is faced with being declared ineligible for the remainder of the season and the following season.

As a result, the field for the Women's State Team Tournament was made up almost entirely of mid-amateur and senior players. Some states used a point system to select the three-woman team. Others used the top finishers in their state championships or conducted qualifying tournaments. A few states employed a selection committee to determine team members.

Just as in the Women's World Amateur Team Championship, the Women's State Team Tournament format meant that only the best two scores of each state's three players were counted in each of three days.

The winning team in the inaugural tournament was from Pennsylvania and was made up of Liz Haines of Gladwyne, Judy Oliver of Sewickley, and Carol Semple Thompson, also of Sewickley. Oliver and Thompson have both played for the United States in the Curtis Cup Match.

The competition was close, as Pennsylvania's score of 442 edged the Texas team by only one stroke.

While no individual prizes were awarded, Toni Wiesner of Fort Worth, Texas, and Lancy Smith of Snyder, N.Y., recorded the lowest individual scores. Each scored 219 for 54 holes, three over par.

The first Women's State Team Tournament proved to be such a popular competition that the decision was made to conduct the tournament every two years.

No registration information is currently available for this tournament.

Welcome to the online registration system, powered by AmateurGolf.com. Please enter your access code below. If you do not have an access code, please visit the to request an invitation.

Access Code:

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011