Jones Cup underway in Georgia
31 Jan 2013
by Benjamin Larsen of AmateurGolf.com

see also: Jones Cup Invitational, Ocean Forest Golf Club, Justin Thomas Rankings

Justin Thomas
Justin Thomas

The 2013 Jones Cup tees off at Ocean Forest Golf Club Friday, kicking off the year's first Major of amateurgolf.com.

The event, which is in its ninth year, features a field made of the top amateurs in the world --- including many Walker Cup hopefuls.

Defending champion Justin Thomas leads a loaded field that will also include his Alabama teammate and the top-ranked player in the Golfweek/amateurgolf.com World Rankings, Bobby Wyatt.

Other top amateurs and major winners from the last year will also be part of the impressive field, including Steven Fox (U.S. Amateur), Peter Williamson (Southern Amateur, North/South Amateur) and Richy Werenski (Porter Cup).

Other top players include Matthew NeSmith (No. 11 in U.S.), Chase Seiffert (Oglethorpe Invitational), Kevin Marsh (Calif. Am, Stocker Cup, Carlton Woods), Cory Whitsett (No. 22 in U.S.), Ben Geyer (NCGA Player of Year), Jim Liu (No. 2 Junior), Nathan Smith (4-time U.S. Mid-Am winner), Curtis Thompson and Daniel Berger, the last two winners of the Dixie Amateur.

Beginning in 2001, the Jones Cup Invitational annually attracts the op amateurs from the U.S. and abroad for its three-day stroke-play competition. Past winners include Kyle Stanely, John Peterson and D.J. Trahan. PGA Tour stars Luke Donald, Rickie Fowler, Dustin Johnson, Webb Simpson, Brandt Snedeker, Gary Woodland and Bubba Watson have also participated in the event.


The Jones Cup is probably the biggest of the springtime amateur majors in the United States, and the reason is the venue and the strong U.S. and international field. The past champions list is littered with PGA Tour stars, including Justin Thomas, Patrick Reed, Luke List, Kyle Stanley, Beau Hossler and several others.

This 54-hole individual stroke-play event, inaugurated in 2001, is played at Ocean Forest Golf Club. The Rees Jones design opened in 1995 and has hosted the Georgia State Amateur Championship, the Southern Amateur Championship and the 2001 Walker Cup Match. The Jones Cup brings together many of the finest amateurs from the United States and abroad for a three-day competition.

The Jones Cup was born from a deep commitment to amateur golf by the A.W. Jones family, who founded the Cloister and Sea Island Golf Club in 1928. The Sea Island Golf Club has played host to seven USGA championships. The Jones Cup is yet another extension of the family's strong involvement in amateur golf.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube