Game's top amateurs take aim at Jones Cup
Justin Thomas
Justin Thomas

SEA ISLAND, Georgia (Jan. 22, 2013) -- Ocean Forest Golf Club is hosting the 9th playing of the Jones Cup Invitational, February 1-3, 2013.

A field comprised of the best amateur golfers in the world, representing 10 countries, will compete over three days on the beautiful Rees Jones layout for a chance to add their name to a list of great champions that includes DJ Trahan, Gregg Jones, Nicholas Thompson, Luke List, Kyle Stanley, Patrick Reed, John Petersonand Justin Thomas.

Defending Champion Justin Thomas will look to defend his title against a strong field that includes Steven Fox (2012 US Amateur Champion), Nathan Smith (4 time US Mid Amateur Champion), Bobby Wyatt (Sunnehanna Amateur Champion), Peter Williamson (Southern Amateur and North/South Amateur Champion), Richy Werenski (Porter Cup Champion) and a host of other talented amateurs who have hopes of playing their way onto their respective Walker Cup team.

Inaugurated in 2001, the Jones Cup Invitational was built from a deep commitment to amateur golf by the A.W. Jones family, and annually attracts the finest amateurs from the United States and abroad for this three-day competition.

Past participants range from current and future PGA Tour stars including Luke Donald, Rickie Fowler, Lucas Glover, Dustin Johnson, Chris Kirk, Jeff Overton, Webb Simpson, Brandt Snedeker, Bubba Watson and Gary Woodland.

The event is open to the public with starting times beginning at 9:00 a.m. on Friday, February 1.


The Jones Cup is probably the biggest of the springtime amateur majors in the United States, and the reason is the venue and the strong U.S. and international field. The past champions list is littered with PGA Tour stars, including Justin Thomas, Patrick Reed, Luke List, Kyle Stanley, Beau Hossler and several others.

This 54-hole individual stroke-play event, inaugurated in 2001, is played at Ocean Forest Golf Club. The Rees Jones design opened in 1995 and has hosted the Georgia State Amateur Championship, the Southern Amateur Championship and the 2001 Walker Cup Match. The Jones Cup brings together many of the finest amateurs from the United States and abroad for a three-day competition.

The Jones Cup was born from a deep commitment to amateur golf by the A.W. Jones family, who founded the Cloister and Sea Island Golf Club in 1928. The Sea Island Golf Club has played host to seven USGA championships. The Jones Cup is yet another extension of the family's strong involvement in amateur golf.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube