Raber captures 109th Trans-Miss title
Tyler Raber
Tyler Raber

EDMOND, Okla. (July 12, 2012) -- U.C. Davis senior Tyler Raber outlasted a talented field of amateur players and a long day of golf at one of the Midwest’s most challenging facilities in winning the 109th Trans-Mississippi Championship Thursday at Oak Tree National in Edmond, Okla.

Raber held off University of Iowa’s Steven Ihm by a single shot with his final 1-over par 72. Earlier in the day Raber had posted a 4-over par 75 in the third round and trailed Arkansas’ Austin Cook by one stroke heading into the final round.

Ihm placed second after rounds of 72 and 73 the final day. Cook finished in third place overall after rounds of 71 and 76. Oklahoma City’s Jeff Coffman was the low mid-amateur with a 72-hole total of 295.

Next year’s championship, the 2013 Trans-Miss, will be held at The Meadow Club near San Francisco.

Results: Trans-Miss Championship
1CATyler RaberEl Macero, CA90070-65-75-72--282
2IASteven IhmPeosta, IA70075-63-72-73--283
3ARAustin CookAR50068-70-71-76--285
4South AfricaCalvin PearsonSouth Africa50069-72-76-69--286
T5TXAndrew ListerKaty, TX50070-74-69-74--287

View full results for Trans-Miss Championship

ABOUT THE Trans-Miss Championship

**Cancelled due to the coronavirus outbreak.

The Trans-Miss is one of the oldest and most storied golf tournaments in the United States. For 106 years the championship was played in a match play format. Past champions include Jack Nicklaus (1958 and 1959), Charles Coe (1947, 1949, 1952 and 1956), Deane Beman (1960), George Archer (1963), Ben Crenshaw (1972), Gary Koch (1973), Bob Tway (1978), Mark Brooks (1978) and other professional tour notables. In 1987 the championship was changed to a mid- amateur age requirement, and a senior division was also added. Starting in 2010, the Trans- Mississippi Championship, returned to its roots as an open amateur tournament, and immediately established itself as a "must-play" among top collegiate and mid-am players, while changing to a 72-hole stroke play format. The field size starts at 144 players from Trans- Mississippi Golf Association member clubs (or players receiving a special invitation from the Championship Committee). After 36 holes, a cut is made to the low 54 and ties who play the final two rounds.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram