Three more added to Walker Cup roster
Far Hills, N.J. (Aug. 7) – Three more of the 10 players who will comprise the 2011 USA Walker Cup Team have been selected by the International Team Selection Committee of the United States Golf Association. The 2011 Walker Cup Match will be played Sept. 10-11 at Royal Aberdeen Golf Club in Aberdeen, Scotland.

The players are:

Patrick Rodgers, 18, Avon, Ind.

Nathan Smith, 33, Pittsburgh, Pa.

Chris Williams, 20, Moscow, Idaho

Smith, a three-time U.S. Mid-Amateur champion (2003, 2009 and 2010), was a member of the victorious 2009 USA Walker Cup Team and went 2-0 in foursomes (alternate- shot) with partner Peter Uihlein. He also won the 2011 Sunnehanna Amateur.

Williams, who will be a junior at the University of Washington, qualified for this year’s U.S. Open at Congressional Country Club. He also won the Sahalee Players Championship, the Pacific Coast Amateur (closing with rounds of 66-66) and was the 72-hole stroke-play medalist at the Western Amateur in early August, carding a 16-under total of 268 at North Shore Country Club in Glenview, Ill.

Rodgers will be an incoming freshman this fall at Stanford University. He claimed the 2011 Porter Cup in a playoff and advanced to the quarterfinals of the Western Amateur after claiming the No. 2 seed in stroke-play qualifying behind Williams.

Previously, Patrick Cantlay, 19, Los Alamitos, Calif.; Harris English, 22, Thomasville, Ga.; Russell Henley, 22, Macon, Ga.; and Peter Uihlein, 21, Orlando, Fla., were named to the team that will compete against 10 amateurs representing Great Britain and Ireland. The remaining three USA players will be named later this month.

The captain of the USA Team is Jim Holtgrieve, 63, of St. Louis, Mo., who was a playing member of the 1979, 1981 and 1983 USA Teams, as well as the 1981 U.S. Mid-Amateur champion.

The biennial Walker Cup Match consists of 18 singles matches and eight foursomes

(alternate-shot) matches over the competition’s two days. The USA Team has won the last three Matches and leads the overall series, 34-7-1.

Previous Story: Cantlay, English, Uihlein, Henley named to roster

ABOUT THE The Walker Cup

The Walker Cup Match is a biennial 10-man amateur team competition between the USA and a team composed of players from Great Britain and Ireland and selected by The R&A. It is played over two days with 18 singles matches and eight foursomes (alternate-shot) matches.

The first United States Walker Cup Team, which in 1922 defeated the GB&I side, 8-4, at the National Golf Links of America, is considered among the best teams ever and included Francis Ouimet, Bob Jones, Charles “Chick” Evans and Jess Sweetser. Many of the game’s greatest players have taken part in Walker Cup competition, including U.S. Open champions Jack Nicklaus, Tiger Woods and Jordan Spieth for the USA and Graeme McDowell, Rory McIlroy and Justin Rose for Great Britain and Ireland.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube