New Year's Invitational- Hagy leads by four

ST PETERSBURG, Fla. (Jan. 8, 2011) -- The winds turned from southwest to north during the day. Brandon Hagy of Cal Berkeley shook off a slow start on the front nine with 37, a bogey on #3 then came home with 33, with a birdie on #13 and an eagle on the par 5 16th. Hagy is an active member of amateurgolf.com who won the 2009 Christmas Classic in Monterey.

University of Florida player Arnond Vonganij shot 72, also with a slow start of 39, coming in with 33, he is in second with 211 four shots back.

Three players stand at 212, Lewis Gruber of Georgia Southern, David Erdy Indiana University and Michael Furci University of Florida.

Jim Liu the national junior amateur champion shot 74-69-74-217 an is 10 shots back. M. J. Maguire club member and high school senior has played well with 75-72-71-218.

Mid-Amateurs Billy Williamson 213 and Mike Barbosa 214 are in contention for the championship, will battle for the Mid-Am Championship.

Stuart Sierra won the senior championship with 75-71-76-222.

* *To view leading scores from Championship, Mid-Am, and Senior Divisions, click on the results link at the bottom of this page. * *

ABOUT THE NEW YEAR'S INVITATIONAL: The New Year's Invitational has been held every year since 1927. It is the oldest continuously-running invitational tournament in the Southeast and one of the oldest in the country. Originally it was one of a number of tournaments held in the winter months at clubs around the area. The other events, in fact several of the other clubs, are long departed.

The tournament was a match play event from its inception until 1956. The first winner was Clearwater resident A.T. Cooper. The 1928 winner, Johnny Revolta, was a combination course ranger - locker room attendant at Lakwood Country Club at the time he won. Later, Revolta became a very successful professional, winning the PGA Championship in 1935 and establishing quite a reputation as as short game instructor. In 1938 he celebrated his return to St. Petersburg and Lakewood with a win at the St. Pete Open, a regular stop on the fledgling PGA tour.

Bob Goalby was the first winner after the change to stroke play. He went on to a lengthy PGA career which included a 1968 Masters green jacket. Between 1972 and 1991, Buddy Alexander, son of our longtime pro Skip Alexander, won 6 titles, the most wins for any player since the World War II era.

During the past two decades the championship has been dominated by collegiate players including winner Ryuji Imada in 1996, Jeff Klauk in 2000 (with a tournament record 21-under par 267), J.B. Holmes in 2003, Brandt Snedeker in 2004 and Jeff Overton in 2005.

The top-ranked amateur in the world by Golfweek/amateurgolf.com -- Peter Uihlein -- won the event in 2009 but is not in the field this year. (He's practicing with other potential Walker Cup hopefuls at nearby Old Memorial Golf Club in Tampa.)

Results: New Year's Invitational
1CABrandon HagyWestlake Village, CA70069-68-70-73--280
2FLArnond VongvanijBradenton, FL50071-68-72-70--281
3INDavid ErdyBoonville, IN40070-70-72-72--284
T4FLMichael BarbosaSt. Petersburg, FL40067-73-74-72--286
T4FLMinghao WangReunion, FL40071-73-69-73--286

View full results for New Year's Invitational

ABOUT THE New Year's Invitational

Historic invitational golf tournament that originated on the Lakewood golf course in 1927. This same amateur invitational tournament -- which attracts top Florida amateurs and a strong group of out-of- state players as well -- continues, unbroken, each year although the club name was later changed to St. Petersburg Country Club.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram