SEBRING, FL (Jan. 6, 2011) -- The weather was perfect and from the first group, the course record 65 was in danger of being broken. Ashleigh Albrecht started on the first hole with a birdie and finished the front nine with three birdies, an eagle, and a bogey to finish with a 31. Four more birdies on the back nine and Ashleigh Albrecht shot a course record 63. The University of Kentucky sophomore set a personal low round and eclipsed the record of 65 set in 2009 by Candace Schepperle.

Just minutes before Albrecht finished, Jessica Yadloczky, University of Florida senior, had tied the course record by stringing 5 birdies in a row and 8 overall to shoot 65.

Three golfers shot 67, Erica Popson, University of Tennessee sophomore, Cheyenne Woods, Wake Forest Junior, and 17 year old, defending champion Kyle Roig. Popson began her round with two bogeys but rallied with seven birdies to shoot her 67.

Overall, twelve golfers broke par including US Curtis Cup player Cydney Clanton with 69, Great Britain/Ireland Curtis Cup player Holly Clyburn and Nora Lucas from University of Illinois with 70. Janine Fellows from Tulane University, Catherine O’Donnell from University of North Carolina, Portland Rosen from University of Virginia and mother of three, mid-amateur Dawn Woodard from South Carolina shot 71.

Carol Semple Thompson shot 78 to lead for the senior trophy with fellow Pennsylvanian Elizabeth Haines one shot behind.

View results for Citrus Golf Trail Ladies Invitational

ABOUT THE Citrus Golf Trail Ladies Invitational

Formerly known as the Harder Hall Invitational, this is a four-day no cut stroke play tournament for women amateurs. It was played at Harder Hall CC for more than 65 years, but in 2021 it moves to a rotation of courses on the Citrus Golf Trail in Sebring, Florida. The illustrious list of past champions includes the current world #1 Nelly Korda; Hall-of-Famer Joanne Carner; LPGA stars Christie Kerr, Brittany Lincicome, Morgan Pressel, Stacy Lewis and Charley Hull; amateur legends Carol Semple Thompson and Meghan Stasi; and two members of the winning 2021 Curtis Cup Team, Emilia Migliaccio and Gina Kim. It has long drawn an international field and has three Divisions: the Championship Division, the Forever 49 Division (max index 16.4) and the Ben Roman Division (indexes from 7.0 to 24.4). It is the first of the "Orange Blossom" series of Florida winter tournaments.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram