Hagy takes lead at New Year's Invite

ST. PETERSBURG, Florida (Jan. 7, 2011) -- University of California golfer Brandon Hagy took the 36-hole lead at the New Year's Invitational on Friday, posting his second straight round in the 60's, a 4-under 68.

Hagy, an active member of amateurgolf.com who won the 2009 Christmas Classic in Monterey, is a 7-under par with one round to play, one ahead of Charlie Bull. Another stroke back is the very accomplished Arnond Vongvanij. The final round should be a shootout.

Michael Barbosa -- a former Georgia Tech player who resides nearby and was leading the overall tournament as well as the Mid-Am field -- posted a 73 and is tied for fourth overall and now just two in front of Billy Williamson (another amateurgolf.com member) who posted a solid 70 on Friday to make a move.

Stewart Sierra leads the Senior Division by two over Ian Clarke.

* *To view leading scores from Championship, Mid-Am, and Senior Divisions, click on the results link at the bottom of this page. * *

The New Year's Invitational has been held every year since 1927. It is the oldest continuously-running invitational tournament in the Southeast and one of the oldest in the country. Originally it was one of a number of tournaments held in the winter months at clubs around the area. The other events, in fact several of the other clubs, are long departed.

The tournament was a match play event from its inception until 1956. The first winner was Clearwater resident A.T. Cooper. The 1928 winner, Johnny Revolta, was a combination course ranger - locker room attendant at Lakwood Country Club at the time he won. Later, Revolta became a very successful professional, winning the PGA Championship in 1935 and establishing quite a reputation as as short game instructor. In 1938 he celebrated his return to St. Petersburg and Lakewood with a win at the St. Pete Open, a regular stop on the fledgling PGA tour.

Bob Goalby was the first winner after the change to stroke play. He went on to a lengthy PGA career which included a 1968 Masters green jacket. Between 1972 and 1991, Buddy Alexander, son of our longtime pro Skip Alexander, won 6 titles, the most wins for any player since the World War II era.

During the past two decades the championship has been dominated by collegiate players including winner Ryuji Imada in 1996, Jeff Klauk in 2000 (with a tournament record 21-under par 267), J.B. Holmes in 2003, Brandt Snedeker in 2004 and Jeff Overton in 2005.

The top-ranked amateur in the world by Golfweek/amateurgolf.com -- Peter Uihlein -- won the event in 2009 but is not in the field this year. (He's practicing with other potential Walker Cup hopefuls at nearby Old Memorial Golf Club in Tampa.)

Results: New Year's Invitational
1CABrandon HagyWestlake Village, CA70069-68-70-73--280
2FLArnond VongvanijBradenton, FL50071-68-72-70--281
3INDavid ErdyBoonville, IN40070-70-72-72--284
T4FLMichael BarbosaSt. Petersburg, FL40067-73-74-72--286
T4FLMinghao WangReunion, FL40071-73-69-73--286

View full results for New Year's Invitational

ABOUT THE New Year's Invitational

Historic invitational golf tournament that originated on the Lakewood golf course in 1927. This same amateur invitational tournament -- which attracts top Florida amateurs and a strong group of out-of- state players as well -- continues, unbroken, each year although the club name was later changed to St. Petersburg Country Club.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram