Washington Golf wins the Lamey Cup for the fifth time
Washington Golf (PNGA Photo)
Washington Golf (PNGA Photo)

The team from WA Golf won the 17th PNGA Lamey Cup, held the past two days at historic Seattle Golf Club. This is the fifth time WA Golf has won this event, which features 12-person teams from the four associations under the PNGA umbrella – Oregon Golf Association, British Columbia Golf, Idaho Golf Association, and Washington Golf.

The Montana State Golf Association became a member association of the PNGA earlier this year, and will be fielding a team in the PNGA Lamey Cup starting with the 2025 competition.

WA Golf finished with 15.5 points, Team OGA was second with 13 points, Team BC Golf third with 12 points, and Team IGA fourth with 7.5 points.

Johnny Carey of Seattle, Paul Mitzel of Quincy, and Andrew Von Lossow of Spokane led WA Golf, going 3-0-0 and undefeated in their matches.

The annual Ryder Cup-style team competition is held on a rotating basis throughout the region, with this year’s event being held in Washington and hosted by Washington Golf.

Each of the four associations under the PNGA umbrella selected a 12-person team consisting of eight men and four women. The representation includes four mid-amateur men of 25 years of age or older, two men of 40 years or older, two senior men of 55 years or older, two mid-amateur women of 25 years or older and two senior women of 50 years or older.

For a complete roster of players for all four associations who competed in this year’s Lamey Cup, please click here.

The PNGA Lamey Cup was created in 2006 by past PNGA President Dr. Jack Lamey as a way of continuing the camaraderie and partnership of the region’s member associations under the PNGA umbrella – British Columbia Golf, Idaho Golf Association, Oregon Golf Association and Washington Golf. With Dr. Lamey’s passing in December 2019, the event and its perpetual trophy have been named after him.

On hand at the trophy presentation today was Yvonne Lamey, wife of Dr. Lamey. Dr. Lamey was a longtime member at Seattle Golf Club, and the inaugural PNGA Lamey Cup was held at the club in 2006. It was also held there in 2018.

The current president of each association served as the captain of their respective teams. For the team of host Washington Golf, Mike Kemppainen was captain; Vincent Johnson captained the Oregon Golf Association team; Russ Peterson captained the Idaho Golf Association team; and Michael Cook filled in for President Shauna Wilton to captain the team from British Columbia Golf.

The two-day competition includes four-ball and foursome matches the first day and singles matches on the second and final day. With three matches for each player, the championship allows each competitor to compete against players from each of the other associations. With both men’s and women’s scores used to determine the team result, it is the only known event of its kind in the U.S.

View results for PNGA Cup Matches

Team event incorporating four-ball, foursomes, and singles matches between teams representing the Washington (WSGA), Oregon (OGA), Idaho (IGA), and British Columbia (BCGA) Golf Associations.

The two-day competition includes four-ball and foursome matches the first day, followed by singles matches the second day. Each of the four associations selects a 12-person team to represent them, which includes four mid-amateur men, two mid-master men, two senior men, two mid-amateur women, and two senior women.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube