California Amateur Cup: The NCGA earns back the trophy after a two year slide
California Amateur Cup
California Amateur Cup

Team NCGA snapped a two-match losing streak and finally got back bragging rights.

The NCGA defeated the SCGA, 35.5-24.5, in Singles play to bring home the biennial California Amateur Cup via a total final score of 49.5-40.5. In Opening Four-Ball play, the SCGA had crept out to a 16-14 lead.

Formerly known as the Seaver Cup, the California Amateur Cup matches are held every other year. The NCGA leads in the overall series, 6-5-2. The event was first held in 1998. 

Representing Team NCGA were Tina Barker, Holly Bare, Lynne Cowan, Pat Cornett, Karen Garcia, Lauren Gebauer, Catherine Kim, Jan Serbin, Randy Haag, Mike Stieler, Jerry Ledzinski, Marc Engellenner, Mike Perchack, Jack Barber, Mark Morgan, Steve Schroeder, Matt Cohn, Nick Randazzo, Garett Wagner and Jeremy Gearhart. 

View results for California Amateur Cup Matches
ABOUT THE California Amateur Cup Matches

Formerly known as the Seaver Cup Matches, the biennial California Amateur Cup Matches brings together the best male and female players of the Northern (NCGA) and Southern (SCGA) California golf associations for team competition. Each team is comprised of 20 players: 12 males (four Seniors and eight non- Seniors) and eight females. Participating players are to be selected by NCGA and SCGA members of the California Golf Association board with consideration to Player of the Year Standings in both the NCGA and SCGA. The winning team will receive the Seaver Cup, which is named in honor of NCGA Hall of Famer Charles Seaver.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube