Alaska State Amateur: Russell Marion and Danica Schmidt are Champions
06 Aug 2023
by Justin Golba of AmateurGolf.com

see also: View results for Alaska State Amateur, Moose Run Golf Course, Russell Marion Rankings

Alaska State Amateur Champions (Alaska Golf Association Photo)
Alaska State Amateur Champions (Alaska Golf Association Photo)

Russell Marion was the only golfer in the Men's Championship Division to shoot under par for all three rounds en route to winning the Alaska State Amateur Championship.

Marion shot rounds of 71-68-70 to finish 7-under and win by four shots over Greg Sanders, who finished at 4-under.

Only Marion, Sanders, and Rob Nelson, who finished in solo third place at 1-under, finished under par for the Championship.

Shane Sundberg and Richard Teders rounded out the top five in the Men's Championship Division.

Trevor Quickel won the Men's Gross Division at 18-over, and Michael Fierro finished first in the Men's Net Division.

In the Women's Championship Division, Danica Schmidt won with a final score of 28-over after defeating Toyoko Hawkins in a playoff. Hawkins finished in solo second place, and Keira DeLand finished in solo third place at 31-over.

Abigail Ante and Mindy Stefanski finished in fourth and fifth place.

Stefanski won the Women's Net Division at 2-under, the only golfer finishing under par.

Results: Alaska State Amateur
1NCRussell MarionJamestown, NC20071-68-70=209
2AKGreg SandersAnchorage, AK10073-69-70=212
3AKRobert NelsonPalmer, AK5072-67-76=215
4AKShane SundbergSoldotna, AK5072-71-73=216
5AKRichard TedersAnchorage, AK5072-69-78=219

View full results for Alaska State Amateur

ABOUT THE Alaska State Amateur

Format: Stroke play over 54 holes, open to amateur golfers who have an active GHIN Handicap Index at the time of registration. Eligibility: Member of any Alaska Golf Association club.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube