Stanford's Rose Zhang wins ANNIKA Award
23 May 2023
by Jim Young of

see also: Rose Zhang Rankings

Annika Sorenstam (L), Rose Zhang and Anne Walker (Photo: Ben Adelberg)
Annika Sorenstam (L), Rose Zhang and Anne Walker (Photo: Ben Adelberg)

Stanford record-setting sophomore Rose Zhang was announced as the winner of the prestigious Annika Award on Tuesday at Grayhawk Golf Club. Zhang, the 2023 individual NCAA Champion, won eight times this season and set a new NCAA single-season scoring average record (68.81).

Zhang became the first woman in NCAA history to win multiple titles, claiming back-to-back individual national championships. She overcame a four-stroke deficit on Monday, posting a 4-under 68 to win at 10-under 278.

Zhang's 12 career wins (in 20 events) sets a new Stanford Golf record, surpassing Tiger Woods (26 events), Patrick Rodgers (35 events) and Maverick McNealy (45 events) who all won 11 times. Zhang matched Lorena Ochoa for the most wins in Pac-12 Women's Golf history.

In winning eight times during the 2022-23 season, Zhang tied Ochoa (Arizona, 2001-02) and Renee Heiken (Illinois, 1992-93) for most wins in a single season in women's collegiate golf history. Her eight wins also tied Tiger Woods' eight victories from his historic 1995-96 sophomore season, which culminated in the national title.

Zhang became Stanford's third straight Annika Award winner, a streak that Rachel Heck began in 2021.

Zhang joins Maria Fassi (Arkansas) and Leona Maguire (Duke) as the only multi-time winners of the award.

• • • • •

About The Annika Award

The Annika Award presented by Stifel, is presented annually to the top female U.S. collegiate golfer; the winner voted on by players, coaches and members of the golf media.

Named for and presented by Annika Sorenstam, the Annika Award is comprised of two primary components: a silver pedestal, which will display a commemorative plaque listing each yearly winner; and a hand-crafted, glass presentation trophy presented to the winner, with a copy given to the player's College or University.

The blue presentation piece seeks to represent an ideal golf swing. Every glass piece is hand-crafted by female artist, Sally Denham. As every golf swing is different, so too are the individual glass sculptures. While similar in size and pattern, each exhibits subtle differences that make every trophy, like every golfer, unique.

The color pattern, from light on the back swing, darker through the bottom arc of the power stroke, then brightening at the follow through, demonstrating how every well-executed golf swing, all the hours on the practice range, all the sacrifice, culminates at the moment of impact.

Only three complete versions of the trophy have been produced. One will be on permanent display with the Annika Foundation in Orlando. A second will be on permanent display at the Country Club of Columbus, next to the Haskins Award, an award given annual to the top collegiate male golfer. A third version will be used for travel and display.

A unique aspect of the Annika presentation is the addition of a special concealed container in the base of the pedestal. Annual winners will be invited to share their reflections on winning the trophy on cards that will be held in the base of the trophy. On the 25th anniversary of the award, the base and the cards within will be opened and shared with the public at a special celebration.

Courtesy of Stanford Athletics Athletics Communications

Latest in, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube