Vanderbilt and Florida to decide SEC Championship on Sunday
22 Apr 2023
by Jim Young of

see also: View results for SEC Championship, Sea Island Golf Club - Seaside Course

And then there were two.

After a long day of golf at Sea Island Golf Club, top-ranked Vanderbilt and No. 7 Florida will decide the SEC Championship Sunday morning after both teams won their quarterfinal and semifinal matches on Saturday.

Vanderbilt, which entered the match-play portion of the tournament as the No. 4 seed, dispatched Alabama (4-1-0) and top-seed Tennessee (3-1-1) to reach the title match opposite the Gators, which defeated Ole Miss (4-1-0) and Texas A&M (3-2-0).

After rolling Alabama, Vanderbilt's Reid Davenport provided the deciding point by converting a short putt on the 19th hole of his match with Tennessee's Jake Hill to send the Commodores to the SEC title match for the third consecutive year.

• • • • •

Related: Caleb Surratt wins SEC individual title

• • • • •

On the opposite side of the bracket, Florida romped to a 4-1-0 win over Ole Miss to set up a semifinal clash with Texas A&M. Matthew Kress, John DuBois and Fred Biondi - the first three Gators out - all posted victories for Florida, with only one match reaching the 18th hole. U.S. Amateur champion Sam Bennett and Phichaksn Maichon accounted for the Aggies' two points.

As he did in the quarterfinal match against Ole Miss, Kress delivered the deciding point to lift the Gators over the Aggies with a par on the 18th hole to close out Vishnu Sadagopan.

The Vanderbilt-Florida championship match is a rematch of last year's final won by the Commodores, 3-2-0, when Vandy's Cole Sherwood downed Yuxin Lin on the 16th hole.

Sunday's championship match from the Seaside Course at the Sea Island Golf Club will tee off at 8 a.m. ET Sunday and will be televised live on the SEC Network.

• • • • •

SEC Championship Match
Florida vs. Vanderbilt
Matthew Kress vs. Matthew Riedel, 8:00 a.m.
John DuBois vs. Reid Davenport, 8:10 a.m.
Yuxin Lin vs. William Moll, 8:20 a.m.
Fred Biondi vs. Gordon Sargent, 8:30 a.m.
Ricky Castillo vs. Cole Sherwood, 8:40 a.m.

Results: SEC Championship
1NCCaleb SurrattIndian Trail, NC80064-68-64=196
2NCAlex GoffKings Mountain, NC50067-68-67=202
3CAPhichaksn MaichonBeverly Hills, CA40068-70-65=203
4KYCanon ClaycombBowling Green, KY40067-66-71=204
5ALGordon SargentMountain Brook, AL40068-69-68=205

View full results for SEC Championship

ABOUT THE SEC Championship

54-hole stroke play tournament crowns an individual champion, then eight teams advance to match play to determine the SEC team champion.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Instagram X Facebook YouTube