Florida and Fred Biondi sweep Augusta Haskins Award Invitational
02 Apr 2023
by Jim Young of

see also: View results for Augusta Invitational, Forest Hills Golf Club, Fred Biondi Rankings

Florida Athletics photo
Florida Athletics photo

Florida will ride a wave of momentum into the postseason after winning the Augusta Haskins Award Invitational on Sunday at Forest Hills Golf Club.

Behind medalist Fred Biondi, the 11th-ranked Gators shot a tournament-record 39-under par for the 54-hole event to earn a 12-shot win over No. 9 Illinois. Florida wrapped up second-round action early Sunday morning with a five-shot lead on the field and came home in 13-under 275 to earn its fourth team title of the season.

Florida senior Fred Biondi earned an exemption into the PGA Tour's 2023 3M Open Championship after earning medalist honors with a 15-under score of 201, which was the second-lowest score relative to par in school history.

Biondi began the final round two back of Illinois' Adrien Dumont de Chassart but a final round of 7-under 65 earned the Brazilian his second individual title of the season and fourth of his career.

Florida also received strong showings from Ricky Castillo, who finished fifth at 10-under and Yuxin Lin, who finished sixth at 9-under. John DuBois (-3; t-16) and Matthew Kress (-1; t-23) also finished in the top-25.

Florida will begin postseason play at the SEC Championship on April 19 at Sea Island in St. Simons Island, Ga.

Results: Augusta Invitational
1BrazilFred BiondiBrazil60066-70-65=201
2BelgiumAdrien Dumont De ChassartBelgium40069-65-69=203
3MexicoLuis CarreraMexico30067-68-69=204
4CTBen JamesMilford, CT30067-70-68=205
5CARicky CastilloYorba Linda, CA30070-66-70=206

View full results for Augusta Invitational

ABOUT THE Augusta Invitational

Founded in 1979, The Augusta Haskins Award Invitational presented by Valspar carries on the rich tradition of golf in Augusta, Georgia. The winner receives an automatic exemption into the PGA TOUR’s 3M Open.

Some of the best golf teams in the country have competed in the event's history, featuring several touring pros such as Davis Love III, Phil Mickelson (1989), Brad Faxon, Justin Leonard (1992), Vaughn Taylor (1998), Oliver Wilson (2001, 2003), Chris Kirk (2005), Scott Brown (2006), Dustin Johnson (2007), Henrik Norlander (2010), Jordan Spieth, Patrick Reed, and Beau Hossler (2016).

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube