USGA adds new exemptions into U.S. Open and U.S. Women's Open
10 Feb 2023
by Jim Young of AmateurGolf.com

see also: Rose Zhang Rankings

2022 NCAA women's individual champion Rose Zhang
2022 NCAA women's individual champion Rose Zhang

The USGA just raised the stakes for winning the NCAA men's and women's individual championships.

The USGA announced today that the winners of the men's and women's NCAA Division I individual championships will earn exemptions into the U.S. Open and U.S. Women's Open beginning this year, should the player remain an amateur.

The 2023 NCAA Division I Women’s Golf Championship will be held May 19-24 at Grayhawk Golf Club, in Scottsdale, Ariz. while the men’s championship will be held one week later at the same venue.

“I think it’s really, really cool,” 2021 champion Rachel Heck told Golfweek, “especially with how big collegiate golf is getting now that the NCAA Championship is televised.

“The winner can become a fan favorite.”

Additionally, the USGA will also grant exemptions to the U.S. Open for the winner of the 2023 Latin America Amateur champion, the 2022 Korn Ferry Tour season points leader and the top five players in 2022-23 FedExCup standings as of May 22, 2023 who are not otherwise exempt.

“The USGA is pleased to offer these exemptions for both the U.S. Open and U.S. Women’s Open,” said USGA Chief Championships Officer John Bodenhamer. “These categories provide another avenue for ensuring the presence of those players who are playing their best leading into both national championships.”

The 2023 U.S. Open will be held at Los Angeles Country Club, June 15-18 while Pebble Beach Golf Links will host the women’s championship for the first time July 6-9.

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube