NBC Sports and the GOLF Channel announce spring collegiate coverage
24 Jan 2023
by Staff

NBC Sports has announced its men’s and women’s spring college golf tournament schedule which will total nearly 150 hours on GOLF Channel and Peacock.

Three regular season events - the Southwestern Invitational, the Darius Rucker Intercollegiate and the Western Intercollegiate - will lead up to GOLF Channel's exclusive coverage of the 2023 NCAA Men's and Women's Division I Golf Championships from Scottsdale's Grayhawk Golf Club in late May.

The Southwestern Invitational hosted by Pepperdine University next week at North Ranch Country Club in Westlake Village, Calif., kicks off the spring coverage.

Once again, College Central will surround spring college golf and provide pre-round coverage leading into all events on GOLF Channel. A 30-minute special spring preview program will air this afternoon at 4:30 p.m. ET on GOLF Channel.

• • • • •

Southwestern Invitational
Jan. 30-Feb. 1
North Ranch Country Club
Westlake Village, Calif.

Broadcast Schedule
Monday, Jan. 30 • 4:30-7:30 p.m. ET
Tuesday, Jan. 31 • 4:30-7:30 p.m. ET
Wednesday, Feb. 1 • 4:30-7:30 p.m. ET

Notables: The Southwestern Invitational Presented by ZipRecruiter is a 54-hole team and individual stroke play championship that features top Division I men’s golf programs across the country taking place annually at North Ranch Country Club (Lakes & Oaks Courses) in Westlake Village, Calif. Past individual champions of the event include Tiger Woods (1996, Stanford University), Patrick Cantlay (2011, UCLA), Sahith Theegala (2020, Pepperdine University), and Corey Pavin (1978, 1981, UCLA).

• • • • •

Darius Rucker Intercollegiate
Feb. 27-March 1
Long Cove Club
Hilton Head, SC

Broadcast Schedule
Monday, Feb. 27 • 2:30-5:30 p.m. ET
Tuesday, Feb. 28 • 2:30-5:30 p.m. ET
Wednesday, March 1 • 2:30-5:30 p.m. ET

Notables: The Darius Rucker Intercollegiate Presented by Principal Financial and PXG will return after making its television debut on GOLF Channel last year when it became the first all-women’s regular season collegiate golf tournament to be presented live on the network. The annual event, hosted by multi-platinum country artist and PXG ambassador Darius Rucker, is held at Long Cove Club in Hilton Head, S.C., and features a 54-hole stroke play competition for individual and team honors. Past individual champions of the tournament include Maria Fassi (2018, University of Arkansas), Emilia Migliaccio (2020, Wake Forest University), and Cheyenne Knight (2016, 2017, University of Alabama).

The field for the 11th edition of the tournament features No. 4 South Carolina (host) alongside 10 teams in the NCAA top 25 rankings, according to the final Golfstat rankings of the 2022 fall season, including defending event champion and No. 2 Wake Forest.

• • • • •

Western Intercollegiate
April 10-12
Pasatiempo Golf Club
Santa Cruz, CA

Broadcast Schedule
Monday, April 10 • 7:00-10:00 p.m. ET
Tuesday, April 11 • 7:00-10:00 ET
Wednesday, April 12 • 4:00-7:00 p.m. ET

Notables: The Western Intercollegiate Presented by Titleist takes place annually in April at Pasatiempo Golf Club in Santa Cruz, Calif. The event is a 54-hole stroke play and team match play competition and marks the final regular season event for the men’s field prior to the start of the conference championships. The individual champion receives the coveted Blue Jacket, with past winners including Johnny Miller (1968, BYU), Ken Venturi (1953, San José State University), Peter Jacobsen (1974, Arizona State University), Arron Oberholser (1996, San José State University), and Scottie Scheffler (2015, University of Texas). Players who have competed in the Western Intercollegiate have collectively earned 531 PGA TOUR victories and 50 major championships.

San José State hosts the 76th edition of one of the longest-running collegiate tournaments, which features five teams in the NCAA top 25 rankings, according to the final Golfstat rankings of the 2022 fall season.

• • • • •

NCAA Women’s Championships
May 22-24
Grayhawk Golf Club
Scottsdale, AZ

NCAA Men’s Championships
May 29-31
Grayhawk Golf Club
Scottsdale, AZ

Notables: GOLF Channel will present the 2023 NCAA Women’s (May 22-24) and Men’s (May 29-31) Golf Championships, totaling nearly 75 hours of comprehensive coverage presented by Stifel, over two weeks in late May. Arizona State will host both Championships at Grayhawk Golf Club in Scottsdale, Ariz., marking the third consecutive championships that will be held at the club.
Last year’s champions were University of Texas (men’s team), Stanford University (women’s team), Gordon Sargent (men’s individual, Vanderbilt University), and Rose Zhang (women’s individual, Stanford University). Additional programming details for the 2023 NCAA Women’s and Men’s Golf Championships will be announced in the coming months.

NBC Sports Press Box contributed to this report

Latest in, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube