Road to NCAA Championship to begin at six regional sites
05 May 2021
by Jim Young of

Texas, Florida State, Oklahoma State, Clemson, Oklahoma and Wake Forest earned top-seeds in the NCAA Men’s Division I Men’s Golf Championships in the upcoming regional tournaments which will be conducted May 17-19.

Thirteen teams and 10 individuals not on those teams will compete at each of three regionals while the other three regionals will have 14 teams and five individuals not on those teams. The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams from each regional will advance to the finals.

The Oklahoma Sooners, who will headline the Albuquerque Regional at the University of New Mexico Championship Course in Albuquerque, N.M., are led by four All-Americans and 12th-year head coach Ryan Hybl, will make their 10th consecutive NCAA Regional appearance and 48th overall appearance in school history. It's the third straight postseason that the Sooners have been named a No. 1 seed, and Oklahoma is the only school in the nation to appear in every NCAA match play since 2016, winning the national championship in 2017.

"We're excited to be the top seed and heading to Albuquerque," Hybl said. "We feel like our guys play some of their best golf when we head out west. The level of competition will be high, and we know that we'll need to play our best golf if we want to advance, but we look forward to the challenge."

Oklahoma was one three Big 12 teams to earn top regional seeds, along with Oklahoma State and Texas.

The Cowboys will stay at home to host a regional at the Karsten Course in Stillwater, where they will welcome Big Ten champion Illinois, Southland champion Sam Houston, Colonial Athletic Association champion College of Charleston and Conference USA champion Middle Tennessee to Stillwater.

OSU has won four consecutive regional titles, including the 2016 NCAA Stillwater Regional, and has captured a nation-leading 14 regional titles overall.

Texas, the top seed in the Noblesville Regional hosted by Ball State and the Sagamore Club, posted five top-10 finishes during the season and features Walker Cup players Pierceson Coody and Cole Hammer on a star-studded roster.

Second-ranked Florida State will also stay at home at the renovated Seminole Legacy club where they will host a deep field that includes No. 2 Georgia, No. 3 Liberty, No. 4 LSU and No. 5 Georgia.

Clemson, led by junior Jacob Bridgeman who led the nation in stroke average at 69.24, headlines the Kingston (Tenn.) Regional. This marks the 37th consecutive regional appearance for the Tigers under head coach Larry Penley, who will be retiring at the end of the season.

Wake Forest will travel west where they will be the top-seed at the Cle Elum, Washington Regional at Tumble Creek Golf Club. Other teams in the regional include No. 2-seed Pepperdine, No. 3-seed Florida, fourth-seeded Arizona, No. 5-seed San Francisco and sixth seed Iowa. Pepperdine, Florida, Arizona and San Francisco are all ranked inside the top 25 in GolfStat.

Team and individual medalist titles will be decided May 28-June 2 at Grayhawk Golf Club in Scottsdale, Ariz. Arizona State and The Thunderbirds are the hosts for the 2021 championships.

Here’s a breakdown of the teams and individuals who comprise the six regionals who look to advance to Scottsdale, Ariz. in late May.

The Sagamore Club – Noblesville, Ind. Hosted by Ball State

Teams (seeded in the following order):

North Carolina
North Florida
South Florida (AAC)
Arkansas State
Campbell (Big South)
UT Martin (Ohio Valley)
Loyola Chicago (Missouri Valley)

Individuals (seeded in the following order):

Ross Steelman, Missouri
Angus Flanagan, Minnesota
Joe Weiler, Purdue
Mark Goetz, West Virginia
Zack Taylor, Coastal Carolina
Alex Goff, Kentucky
Cole Bradley, Purdue
David Perkins, Illinois State
Michael Cascino, Butler
Henry May, Dayton

Seminole Legacy Golf Club – Tallahassee, Fla. Hosted by Florida State

Teams (seeded in the following order):

Florida State
Liberty (Atlantic Sun)
Georgia Tech
Georgia Southern (Sun Belt)
Southern California
Ohio State
Davidson (Atlantic 10)
Florida A&M (Mid-Eastern)
LIU (Northeast)

Individuals (seeded in the following order):

Keller Harper, Furman
Johnny Travale, UCF
Michael Sakane, Jacksonville
Enrique Dimayuga, Florida Atlantic
Saptak Talwar, Sacred Heart

Karsten Creek Golf Club – Stillwater, Okla. Hosted by Oklahoma State

Teams (seeded in the following order):

Oklahoma State (Big 12)
Illinois (Big Ten)
Notre Dame
Sam Houston (Southland)
Little Rock
Ole Miss
College of Charleston (CAA)
Middle Tennessee (Conference USA)

Individuals (seeded in the following order):

Devon Bling, UCLA
Mark Lawrence Jr., Virginia Tech
Tripp Kinney, Iowa State
Vicente Marzilio, North Texas
Lachlan Barker, Iowa State
A.J. Ott, Colorado State
Tim Tillmanns, Kansas State
Guillaume Fanonnel, ULM
Lucas Carper, UC Davis
Jack Howes, Oral Roberts

The Golf Club of Tennessee – Kingston Springs, Tenn. Hosted by Vanderbilt

Teams (seeded in the following order):

Clemson (ACC)
NC State
Vanderbilt (SEC)
San Diego State
Kent State (MAC)
Loyola Maryland (Patriot League)
UConn (Big East)
Iona (Metro Atlantic)

Individuals (seeded in the following order):

James Piot, Michigan State
Ben van Wyk, Augusta
Evan Davis, Belmont
Van Holmgren, Florida Gulf Coast
Christopher Gotterup, Rutgers
Hunter Eichhorn, Marquette
Brandon Einstein, High Point
Hunter Fry, USC Upstate
Timothius Tamardi, App State
Austin Devereux, Rider

Championship Course at UNM – Albuquerque, N.M. Hosted by New Mexico

Teams (seeded in the following order):

Arizona State
Texas A&M
Texas Tech
New Mexico (Mountain West)
Oregon State
Boise State
South Carolina
San Diego
New Mexico State (WAC)
Oakland (Horizon)
Prairie View A&M (Southwestern)

Individuals (seeded in the following order):

Tommy Stephenson, Fresno State
Daniel O’Loughlin, Colorado
Blake Hathcoat, St. Mary’s (California)
Gavin Cohen, LMU
Riley Lewis, LMU

Tumble Creek Golf & Country Club – Cle Elum, Wash. Hosted by Washington

Teams (seeded in the following order):

Wake Forest
Pepperdine (WCC)
Arizona (Pac-12)
San Francisco
East Tennessee State (Southern)
Mississippi State
Long Beach State (Big West)
Denver (Summit)
Sacramento State (Big Sky)

Individuals (seeded in the following order):

Carson Lundell, Brigham Young
Matt McCarty, Santa Clara
Jack Trent, UNLV
Jake Vincent, Southern Utah
Gabe Lysen, Utah Valley

Latest in, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube