NCAA DI Women’s regionals a mix of heavy hitters and hopefuls
28 Apr 2021
by AmateurGolf.com Staff

- NCAA photo
- NCAA photo

By Will Doctor for AmateurGolf.com

South Carolina, Duke, Wake Forest and LSU earned top seeds for the upcoming NCAA Division I Women’s Golf Regionals, which get underway at four sites beginning on May 10.

The top-ranked South Carolina Gamecocks, the tournament’s overall No. 1 seed, will head up the Louisville Regional at the University of Louisville Golf Club in Simpsonville, Ky. Second-ranked Duke, which has won 10 NCAA Championships, headlines the Columbus Regional, which will be held at the demanding Scarlett Course at the Ohio State Golf Club. Wake Forest, ranked third by Golfstat.com, will travel west where it will be the top-seed in a stacked Stanford Regional, while fourth-ranked LSU will stay at home to host the Baton Rouge Regional at the David Toms-designed University Club.

A total of 72 teams, including 26 automatic qualifiers from various conferences and 46 at-large teams, along with 24 individual competitors, will compete at the four regional sites beginning on May 10. The top six teams from each regional, along with the top three individual competitors from non-advancing teams, will earn spots in the championship finals, scheduled for May 21-26 at Grayhawk Golf Club in Scottsdale, Ariz. The final three days of the championships will be televised by the GOLF Channel.

The Gamecocks, led by SEC individual champion Pauline Roussin-Bouchard, won a program best four tournaments this season and finished no lower than third in any of its events. Under the direction of 36-year head coach Dan Brooks, Duke has won three tournaments on the season, including last week’s ACC Championship at Sedgefield Country Club in Greensboro, NC. The Demon Deacons, which won two events and a pair of individual titles during the regular season, will look to regain some momentum following a semifinal loss to Florida State in the semifinals of the ACC Championships. Behind sophomore Ingrid Lindblad, AmateurGolf.com’s top-ranked female amateur in the world, the Tigers will be making their 26th regional appearance and will try to take advantage of familiar surroundings on their home course, the University Club.

"I think if you look at all the regional sites, the NCAA selection committee did a great job of spreading everybody out evenly, as far as placement of ranked teams, teams close to regional sites and teams sent across the country," said LSU third-year head coach Garrett Runion told lsusports.net. "Looking at our site, being the No. 1 seed is nice. It has been a goal of ours since the beginning of the season and gives us a lot of confidence."

Here is a complete list of teams and the individual competitors that will make up the four regional fields (conference champions identified in parentheses):

Baton Rouge Regional Site
University Club- Baton Rouge, Louisiana

1. LSU
2. Ole Miss
3. Baylor
4. Oregon
5. Maryland
6. Alabama
7. Oregon State
8. Houston
9. Miami (Florida)
10. North Texas (Conference USA)
11. Purdue
12. Mississippi State
13. Tulsa (American Athletic Conference)
14. Sam Houston State (Southland Conference)
15. Kennesaw State (Atlantic Sun Conference)
16. East Tennessee State (Southern Conference)
17. Jacksonville State (Ohio Valley Conference)
18. Quinnipiac (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)

1. Teresa Toscano – South Dakota State (The Summit League)
2. Courtney Dow – Texas A&M
3. Justine Fournand – Florida Atlantic
4. Julie Hovland – South Alabama
5. Malak Bouraeda – Colorado
6. Dorthea Forbrigd – East Carolina (American Athletic Conference)

Columbus Regional Site
Scarlet Course- Columbus, Ohio

1. Duke (Atlantic Coast Conference)
2. Arizona State
3. Virginia
4. Kent State (Mid-American Conference)
5. Georgia
6. Vanderbilt
7. Michigan
8. Clemson
9. Oklahoma
10. Kentucky
11. Illinois
12. New Mexico (Mountain West Conference)
13. Nebraska
14. Washington
15. Coastal Carolina (Sun Belt Conference)
16. Campbell (Big South Conference)
17. Evansville (Missouri Valley Conference)
18. Youngstown State (Horizon League)

1. Leah Onosato – Old Dominion
2. Monika Hartl – NC State
3. Nicole Adam – North Carolina
4. Samantha Vodry – High Point
5. Rory Weinfurther – Richmond (Patriot League)
6. Maria Loza – Hartford (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)

Louisville Regional Site
University of Louisville Golf Club- Simpsonville, Kentucky

1. South Carolina
2. Florida State
3. Auburn (Southeastern Conference)
4. Texas
5. Arkansas
6. Texas Tech
8. Michigan State (Big Ten Conference)
9. University of Central Florida
10. Tennessee
11. North Florida
12. Louisville
13. University of Texas at San Antonio
14. Mercer
15. College of Charleston
16. Xavier (Big East Conference)
17. James Madison (Colonial Athletic Association)
18. Fairleigh Dickinson (Northeast Conference)

1. Anna Morgan – Furman
2. Madison Moosa – Furman
3. Jess Yuen – Missouri
4. Cecilie Finne-Ipsen – Charlotte
5. Sarah-Eve Rheaume – Furman (Southern Conference)
6. Beem Pabsimma – University of South Carolina Upstate (Big South Conference)

Stanford Regional Site
Stanford Golf Course- Stanford, California

1. Wake Forest
2. Oklahoma State (Big 12 Conference)
3. Southern California (Pac-12 Conference)
4. Virginia Tech
5. Stanford
6. Arizona
7. Florida
8. Northwestern
9. Iowa State
10. Denver (The Summit League)
11. TCU
12. San Diego State
13. Pepperdine
14. San Jose State
15. New Mexico State (Western Athletic Conference)
16. Cal Poly (Big West Conference)
17. Sacramento State (Big Sky Conference)
18. Navy (Patriot League)

1. Samantha Fuller – UNLV
2. Brigitte Thibault – Fresno State
3. Allysha Mae Mateo – Brigham Young
4. Brittany Shin – Cal State Fullerton
5. Holland Shourds – Long Beach State (Big West Conference)
6. Victoria Estrada – Utah Valley (Western Athletic Conference)

“Of these players, 132 will advance to the championships finals. Six teams and three individuals will advance from each regional,” according to the NCAA.

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube