The Goodwin: Arizona State holds off host Stanford
- Arizona State Men's Golf photo
- Arizona State Men's Golf photo

The Sun Devil men's golf team held off host Stanford Saturday to win The Goodwin for just the second time in ASU history and for the first time since 1994.

Playing in their seventh spring tournament due to no fall competition, ASU got good rounds from everyone at over the weekend and had all five players contending for a counting score in the final round. With Stanford not going away and staying within four strokes down the stretch, the Sun Devils played the final four holes at 5-under with six birdies and just one bogey to win the 28-team tournament.

Stanford Golf Course (par-70/6,742 yards) played tough, as the 146-player field saw only two teams finish under par. The Sun Devils shot a 7-under 273 in the second round to take a five-shot cushion heading into Saturday and then posted the third-best team round (6-under 274) to finish at 15-under 825, eight shots better than Stanford (7-under 833).

Ryggs Johnston (69-69-67=205/-5) had four birdies in a six-hole stretch on Saturday and finished tied for seventh. He had birdies on No. 16 and No. 18 Saturday to help seal the win. He posted 15 birdies in the tournament, tied for second-most.

Senior Chun An Yu shot his best round of the year Friday with a bogey-free 65 (71-65-69=205/-5) and fought back from two bogeys in his first three holes Saturday. He posted four birdies in the final nine holes and also tied for seventh.

David Puig (70-70-68=208/-2) shot par for the first two days -- aided by an eagle on the par-5 No. 7 (539 yards) – and then finished strong and tied for 11th. He played the par-4 holes in 3-under, tied for third-best in the tournament.

Mason Andersen tied for 24th with a 2-over 212 (70-69-73=212), his flurry of birdies in round to at the end led ASU to taking the lead. He birdied five of six holes midway through his second round that helped ASU earn a five-stroke lead heading into Saturday.

Junior Cameron Sisk (69-73-70) also finished at 2-over 212 and tied for 24th, and his solid finish was big to help put Stanford away. He was 2-over through three holes and 2-over again through 15, but like Johnston birdied No. 16 and No. 18 to post 70, the first score on the board for the Sun Devils.

SUN DEVIL HISTORY AT THE EVENT: Billy Mayfair won the 1987 title, with Todd Demsey and the team following it seven years later by both winning titles in 1994, and then Pat Moore won the 2005 title, as it was then called the U.S. Intercollegiate.

ABOUT THE EVENT: The event began in 1968 and has been held every year except for three - 1981, 2011 and 2020. The Cardinal was joined by a strong field of 27 other teams: Arizona State, TCU, Nevada, Denver, Colorado, San Diego, Georgia Tech, Washington State, Cal Baptist, USC, SMU, Long Beach, FAU, Cal, Minnesota, BYU, St. Mary's, Pacific, UC Davis, Cal Poly, Santa Clara, Northwestern, Washington, Oregon, San Jose State, UCLA and Pepperdine. Stanford had won the event 16 times (2019, 2017, 2014, 2013, 2007, 1995, 1989, 1980, 1970-75 and 1968.

Thanks to Arizona State University for this report.

Results: The Goodwin
T1CASam HarnedRocklin, CA70063-70-67=200
T1CABlake HathcoatFresno, CA70063-69-68=200
3FranceTom GueantFrance40069-70-62=201
T4JapanKaito OnishiJapan40068-69-66=203
T4TXNoah GoodwinCorinth, TX40067-66-70=203

View full results for The Goodwin

ABOUT THE The Goodwin

54 hole men's college tournament hosted by Stanford University. Team (best four scores out of five players each round) and individual competitions.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube