Rasmus Neergaard-Petersen wins Oklahoma Stroke Play
Rasmus Neergaard-Petersen (OGA photo)
Rasmus Neergaard-Petersen (OGA photo)

Even with COVID-19 cutting the collegiate season short, Oklahoma State is always finding ways to compete and win at a high level. The collegiate-heavy field saw four different Division-I universities represented in the top-10, proving the depth and level of play at the event.

Coming out on top of a loaded field at the Oklahoma Stroke Play Championship was rising junior Rasmus Neergaard-Petersen. The Danish Cowboy carded rounds of 67, 66, 69 for a 202 total (-14).

Oklahoma State had a busy day Wednesday as Neergaard-Petersen’s teammate Brian Stark secured a top-10 finish, and another Cowboy, Hazen Newman snagged a top-5 finish at The Sizzler.

One-shot off the lead to begin the day, Neergaard-Petersen posted a 3-under 69 to surpass the leader heading into the final round, Texas Tech signee JP Roller who carded a final round 73. Stetson’s Carson Tewell also passed Roller to take home a second-place finish at 11-under.

Neergaard-Petersen became the fifth Cowboy to win the state’s amateur stroke play championship as he now joins Kevin Whipple (1985), Trent Whitekiller (2007, 2008), Talor Gooch (2012) and Hayden Wood (2013).

View results for Oklahoma Stroke Play

ABOUT THE Oklahoma Stroke Play

Open to amateurs who are residents of Oklahoma, or full time students of an Oklahoma College or University. Participants must be a member of the OGA. Format is 54 Holes of stroke play. There will be a cut to the low 30 and ties after 36 Holes of stroke play.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube