Ben Hogan Award watch list includes 31 top players
20 Feb 2020
by AmateurGolf.com Staff

- Ben Hogan Award photo
- Ben Hogan Award photo

The Ben Hogan Award watch list was released this week, with 31 names in contention for the award that recognizes the top player in college and amateur golf.

According to a release by the Hogan Trophy Award Foundation, the Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA), the following players are on the watch list for the 2020 Ben Hogan Award:

Watch List Candidates
Name, School, Class, Hometown

John Augenstein, Vanderbilt, Sr., Owensboro, Ky.
John Axelsen, Florida, Jr., Tølløse, Denmark
Ricky Castillo, Florida, Fr., Yorba Linda, Calif.
Pierceson Coody, Texas, So., Plano, Texas
Quade Cummins, Oklahoma, Sr., Weatherford, Okla.
Cooper Dossey, Baylor, Sr., Austin, Texas
Austin Eckroat, Oklahoma State, Jr., Edmond, Okla.
Carl Didrik Fosaas, Keiser, So., Vestskogen, Norway
Noah Goodwin, SMU, Jr., Corinth, Texas
Cole Hammer, Texas, So., Houston, Texas
Peter Kuest, BYU, Sr., Fresno, Calif.
Drew Mathers, Huntingdon, Sr., Mobile, Ala.
William Mouw, Pepperdine, Fr., Chino, Calif.
Vincent Norrman, Georgia Southwestern, Jr., Stockholm, Sweden
Andy Ogletree, Georgia Tech, Sr., Little Rock, Miss.
John Pak, Florida State, Jr., Scotch Plains, N.J.
Adrien Pendaries, Duke, Jr., Neuilly-sur-Seine, France
David Perkins, Illinois State, Sr., East Peoria, Ill.
Trent Phillips, Georgia, So., Inman, S.C.
Mark Power, Wake Forest, Fr., Kilkenny, Ireland
Garrett Reband, Oklahoma, Sr., Fort Worth, Texas
Jovan Rebula, Auburn, Sr., George, South Africa
Matthias Schmid, Louisville, Jr., Maxhvette, Germany
Luke Schniederjans, Georgia Tech, Sr., Powder Springs, Ga.
Sandy Scott, Texas Tech, Sr., Nairn, Scotland
Tyler Strafaci, Georgia Tech, Sr., Davie, Fla.
Sahith Theegala, Pepperdine, Sr., Chino Hills, Calif.
Davis Thompson, Georgia, Jr., Auburn, Ala.
Jack Trent, UNLV, Jr., Sunshine Coast, Australia
Trevor Werbylo, Arizona, Jr., Tucson, Ariz.
Chun An Yu, Arizona State, Sr., Taoyuan, Taiwan

Eight players (Cummins, Hammer, Kuest, Phillips, Schmid, Schniederjans, Strafaci and Yu) are repeat members from the 2019 watch list. Two members, Hammer and Yu, were among the award’s 10 semifinalists a year ago, when Viktor Hovland won the award.

Related: Ahead of title defense, Viktor Hovland wins the Ben Hogan Award

10 Ben Hogan Award semifinalists will be announced on April 15. In May, the list will be narrows down to the final three (last year the final three were Hovland, Matthew Wolff and Collin Morikawa).

The three finalists will then attend a black-tie dinner at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, where the winner will be announced.

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram