Gotterup and Kuest co-winners of Hogan Award monthly honor
12 Nov 2019
by Staff

see also: Chris Gotterup Rankings, Peter Kuest Profile

After tallying the ballots from the award’s selection committee as well as the record-setting number of votes on social media, the Ben Hogan Trophy Award Foundation has announced that Christopher Gotterup of Rutgers and Peter Kuest of BYU are the co-winners of the Ben Hogan Award October Golfer of the Month honor.

Gotterup, a junior from Little Silver, N.J., carried a 67.33 scoring average with two top-5 finishes in his two events last month. His play was highlighted by an eight-shot win at the Fighting Irish Classic when he fired a 14-under par score of 199. Gotterup also tied for fifth place at the Quail Valley Collegiate Invitational with a 54-hole score of 205 (-11).

Kuest, a senior from Fresno, Calif., had one victory, a 68.56 stroke average and three top-10 finishes in three events. He shared medalist honors at the Nick Watney Invitational after shooting a three-round score of 200 (-13). In addition, Kuest tied for fourth at the Jerry Pate National Intercollegiate (204, -6) and was 10th at the Visit Stockton Pacific Invite (213, -3).

In line with the yearly Ben Hogan Award, voters consider all college, amateur and professional event results. Winning a monthly award is not a prerequisite to be named a Ben Hogan Award semifinalist, finalist or winner. UNLV’s Jack Trent was the other finalist for the October honor.

Fourteen total ballots were tabulated, with 11 coming from members of the Ben Hogan Trophy Award Foundation and the Friends of Golf (FOG), while three were social media fan ballots. Those votes were issued on behalf of the top vote getter on Facebook (Kuest), Instagram (Kuest) and Twitter (Gotterup).

Ben Hogan Award Golfers of the Month

August – Andy Ogletree (Georgia Tech)
September – Cooper Dossey (Baylor)
October – Christopher Gotterup (Rutgers) & Peter Kuest (BYU)

About the Ben Hogan Award

The Ben Hogan Award is given each May to the top men’s college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions over the previous 12 months. The Ben Hogan Trophy was first issued by the Friends of Golf at Bel-Air Country Club in Los Angeles in 1990. In 2002, the Ben Hogan Award moved to Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, and revised its criteria to its current standard of honoring the outstanding amateur and collegiate golfer.

Winners of the Ben Hogan Award include three golfers currently ranked in the top 25 in the Official World Golf Rankings (OWGR)— No. 5 Jon Rahm (2015, 2016), No. 6 Patrick Cantlay (2012) and No. 21 Rickie Fowler (2008). Other recipients include: Ricky Barnes (2003), Matt Every (2006), Doug Ghim (2018), Bill Haas (2004), Viktor Hovland (2019), Chris Kirk (2007), Hunter Mahan (2003), Maverick McNealy (2017), Ryan Moore (2005), Patrick Rodgers (2014), Kyle Stanley (2009), Nick Taylor (2010), D.J. Trahan (2002), Peter Uihlein (2011) and Chris Williams (2013).

Ben Hogan Award winners have collected 38 PGA TOUR victories, have played on eight Ryder Cup teams and 10 Presidents Cup teams and have amassed more than $225 million in winnings.

Latest in, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Instagram X Facebook YouTube