USGA finalizes the U.S. Walker Cup team
18 Aug 2019
by Staff

see also: The Walker Cup, Cypress Point Club

Shortly after Andy Ogletree lifted the Havemeyer Trophy as the newest U.S. Amateur champion, the USGA’s International Team Selection Committee announced the 10-player roster for the 47th Walker Cup Match, to be held Sep. 7-8 at Royal Liverpool Golf Club in Hoylake, England.

Ogletree will be representing the United States, as will the player he defeated on Sunday at Pinehurst, John Augenstein.

Before receiving the automatic selection reserved for the U.S. Amateur winner, Ogletree hadn't really thought much about this scenario. He had thought so little about it, in fact, that he doesn't even have a passport to get to the matches in England in three weeks. Don't worry: The USGA is on it.

By contrast, Augenstein put a Walker Cup selection ahead of winning the U.S. Amateur on his priority list. He had trouble processing it when it happened.

"I'm very proud of being selected for the Walker Cup," he said. "That was a major goal, obviously, as I've voiced all this week. And so it hasn't really sunk in yet, of course, because I was told about 30 seconds after I lost the match.

The two new selections will join Cole Hammer, Akshay Bhatia, and Stewart Hagestad, who were the first three players chosen to the team based on their World Amateur Golf Ranking (WAGR) in July.

Related: Hammer, Bhatia, Hagestad named to Walker Cup based on WAGR

For the final five selections, the Committee and U.S. Captain Nathaniel Crosby chose some of the nation's top collegiate golfers: Steven Fisk, John Pak, Isaiah Salinda, Alex Smalley, and Brandon Wu. Fisk and Pak were consensus First-Team All-Americans in 2018-19, while Salinda, Smalley and Wu were named to the second team by Golfweek. Salinda and Wu were both key players in Stanford's dramatic run to an NCAA Championship.

“The USGA has assembled an extremely talented squad to represent our country in the 47th Walker Cup Match,” said Stuart Francis, USGA Championship Committee chairman. “We are looking forward to watching this group bond in the spirit of teamwork, commitment and camaraderie when they compete to defend the Walker Cup.”

ABOUT THE The Walker Cup

The Walker Cup Match is a biennial 10-man amateur team competition between the USA and a team composed of players from Great Britain and Ireland and selected by The R&A. It is played over two days with 18 singles matches and eight foursomes (alternate-shot) matches.

The first United States Walker Cup Team, which in 1922 defeated the GB&I side, 8-4, at the National Golf Links of America, is considered among the best teams ever and included Francis Ouimet, Bob Jones, Charles “Chick” Evans and Jess Sweetser. Many of the game’s greatest players have taken part in Walker Cup competition, including U.S. Open champions Jack Nicklaus, Tiger Woods and Jordan Spieth for the USA and Graeme McDowell, Rory McIlroy and Justin Rose for Great Britain and Ireland.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Instagram X Facebook YouTube