Miller takes Cotton States title after lopsided title match
Charlie Miller, Tournament Chairman Stewart Causey, runner-up Sims Abney (Twitter photo)
Charlie Miller, Tournament Chairman Stewart Causey, runner-up Sims Abney (Twitter photo)

After a long week at the Cotton States Amateur, Charlie Miller is the champion. Miller, a rising Ole Miss sophomore from Jackson, Miss., made relatively quick work of fellow Mississippian Simms Abney in Sunday’s championship match at Bayou DiSiard Country Club in Monroe, La.

The match seemed in Miller’s favor from early on. He was 3 up on Abney, an incoming Alabama freshman, by the time the two made the turn. Miller then knocked in a mid-range birdie putt at No. 11 to go 4 up and made another birdie at the next hole to take his advantage to 5 up.

When Miller’s drive hit a tree at No. 13, Abney had a small opening. He failed to take advantage, however, and the hole was halved with bogeys.

Abney conceded the hole, and the match, on the par-5 14th.

Miller’s Cotton States title is the latest on a summer hot streak. He finished in the top 10 at the Southern Amateur and followed that with a fourth-place finish at the Mississippi State Amateur.

Results: Cotton States Amateur
WinMSCharlie MillerJackson, MS400
Runner-upMSSimms AbneyJackson, MS300
SemifinalsLACharlie FlynnAlexandria, LA200
SemifinalsLALance YatesBaton Rouge, LA200
QuarterfinalsTXMark ReppeDallas, TX100

View full results for Cotton States Amateur

ABOUT THE Cotton States Amateur

Originally played in 1949 as the Bayou DeSiard Labor Day Golf Tournament, the tournament's name was changed to the Cotton States Invitational in 1951 by the club's young head professional, W. E. "Winnie" Cole. He felt that the name better reflected the main states that the tournament's players originated from (and a move to mid-summer made the name a necessity later anyway). Little did Cole know that 27 years later, in 1978, the event would be renamed again, forever to be known as the W. E. Cole Cotton States Invitational Golf Tournament.

Past champions of this highly competitive, yet festive tournament include Don January and Hal Sutton. Gil Morgan, David Toms and many other PGA Tour players have also competed. The tournament field field is limited to 96 amateur participants having a verified USGA Handicap Index not exceeding 0.0. Long a match play event, the format was changed in 2021 to 72 holes of stroke play.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube