Haskins Four-Ball: Playoff win for Gaddy, Schaetzel
(Country Club of Columbus photo)
(Country Club of Columbus photo)

After battling all day at the Country Club of Columbus, the team of Alex Gaddy and Tim Schaetzel won the Haskins Four-Ball in a playoff over Matthew Hayes and Garland Ferrell.

The two teams started the final round tied for the lead at 8-under 134, with the team of Mark Phillips and Jake Phillips one shot behind. But Team Phillips faded with final-round 1-over 72, making it a two-team race.

The two teams matched scores of 66 in the final round, finishing at 13-under 200 and seven shots ahead of third place. After a playoff, Gaddy and Schaetzel were the winners.

Phillips-Phillips finished third at 6 under, along with the team of Stan Sherlin and Kaylor Timmons.

In the Senior Division, Walker Grant and Emile Vaughn cruised to a six-shot win over Dave Padlo and Gordon Blakely. Grant and Vaughn built an eleven-shot lead after rounds of 64-65, then eased home with a 72 on Sunday.

Other flight winners were:

Championship 2nd Flight: Bart Middlebrooks and Tra Dykes
Championship 3rd Flight: Parker James and Parker Derby
Senior 2nd Flight: John Landis and Bill Lenhardt
Super Senior 1st Flight: Kevin McDonough and Barry Watley
Super Senior 2nd Flight: Neil Monroe and David Nell

View results for Haskins Four-Ball
ABOUT THE Haskins Four-Ball

Due to the club hosting the Georgia Four-Ball, the Haskins will not be played in 2020.

Played in honor of Golf Pro Fred Haskins, for whom the national collegiate player of the year award is named. Arthur Hills restored this Donald Ross gem that also hosts the Southeastern Amateur. 54 hole tournament; teams will be flighted after round 2.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Instagram X Facebook YouTube