India's Sharma defeats Barbieri for NSW Amateur title
Kartik Sharma (left) and Nathan Barbieri (NSW Golf photo)
Kartik Sharma (left) and Nathan Barbieri (NSW Golf photo)

TERREY HILLS, NEW SOUTH WALES, Australia (Jan. 25, 2019) – India’s Kartik Sharma is the New South Wales Amateur champion after getting past Australian Nathan Barbieri in the scheduled 36-hole final at Terrey Hills. It’s been a rough run for Barbieri, who last week made it to the final match of the Australian Amateur only to lose to Conor Purcell.

On Friday, Sharma took a big lead into the afternoon session, but Barbieri did make a charge.

By the 16th hole in the afternoon, Barbieri had cut Sharma’s lead to 1 up after winning Nos. 14 and 15.

After Kartik played a solid 5-iron second shot to the middle of the 17th green, Barbieri launched a missile from the right rough. It flew the green, however, and almost ended up out of bounds over near the 18th tee.

Still, Barbieri recovered with what looked like a miracle pitch, only for it to check on the downslope and come up 9 feet short.

Kartik putted up to a couple of feet, then, in the cruelest twist, Barbieri’s putt did a 180-degree turn on the lip to stay out. With the match effectively over, Kartik rolled in his putt for his first ever international title.

“It’s funny, it’s what I thought on the 17th, that you have to have it in here,” he said, pointing to his chest. “I committed to what I was doing. Starting the year, I had it as one of my goals to win an event internationally.

“People were asking me if it was achievable and I knew it was because I know what I am capable of. I thought I could win and it feels great to have won this event.”

Information from NSW Golf used in this report

Results: New South Wales Men's Amateur
WinIndiaKartik SharmaIndia700
Runner-upAustraliaNathan BarbieriAustralia500
SemifinalsEnglandBenjamin JonesEngland400
SemifinalsCanadaJosh WhalenCanada400
QuarterfinalsCanadaJoey SavoieCanada300

View full results for New South Wales Men's Amateur

ABOUT THE New South Wales Men's Amateur

The NSW Medal is played over two courses. It is two rounds of 18-holes stroke play and then match play.

The field is evenly divided between the two venues for the first day’s play with players changing venues for their second round. The winner of the 36 holes stroke play section of the Championship is the winner of the NSW Medal.

The leading 32 players from the NSW Medal (who have nominated to play in the NSW Amateur) will be eligible to compete in the NSW Amateur Championship Match Play, with each match played over 18-holes other than the Final which is played over 36-holes. The match play is seeded with ties determined by lot.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Instagram X Facebook YouTube