Honeck, Frost hold on for Trans-Miss Four-Ball victory
Clint Frost and Creighton Honeck (Trans-Miss photo)
Clint Frost and Creighton Honeck (Trans-Miss photo)

SANTA ROSA, Calif. (Sept. 21, 2018) – Creighton Honeck of Bee Cave, Texas, and Clint Frost of Robinson, Texas, had a four-shot lead entering the final round of the Trans-Miss Four-Ball at Mayacama Golf Club. That, however, had evaporated by the fifth hole after Travis Peterson of Santa Rosa, Calif., and Domingo Jojola of Burlingame, Calif., completed two, two-shot swings. Despite, Honeck and Frost falling back to the pack, the Texans never actually gave up the top of the leaderboard. They made sure the victory was theirs with birdies on four of the last five holes to reach 22 under for the tournament. Peterson and Jojola came in with a strong finish as well to get to 20 under -- it just ended up being two shots short.

First-round leaders Robert Kupchynsky and David Richards, both from Dallas, were 6 under on the final round to reach the 17-under mark. They were part of a three-way tie for third that included Ned Jensen of San Francisco, Calif., and Ben Peters of San Mateo, Calif., as well as Jerry Ledzinski of Carmel, Calif., and Gary Dunn of Granite Bay, Calif. Both of those teams posted a 10-under 62 in the final round to fly up the leaderboard.

In the Senior Division, Kip Estep of Rockwall, Texas, and Don Gafner of Sunnyvale, Texas, shot a final round, 7-under 65 to get to a three-day total of 12 under. That left them tied with Tom Musselman of Scottsdale, Ariz., and Paul Balatti of Windsor, Calif., who had carded a 4-under round to also reach 12 under.

In the playoff, Balatti used his home-club knowledge and made a 6-foot birdie putt to take the title.

David Sheff of Laguna Niguel, Calif., and Rich Tolly of Dana Point, Calif., managed to convert their 36-hole lead into a victory after a 5-under 67 in the final round. The duo was just 1 under before they rallied and made four birdies in the last five holes.

ABOUT THE Trans-Miss Four-Ball

One of four annual championships hosted each year by the historic Trans-Mississippi Golf Association. Each player must be a member of a Trans-Mississippi member club, but not necessarily the same club. Players who do not belong to a Trans-Miss member club can speak to their club's manager or board of directors to encourage them to join (dues are very reasonable and support the Trans-Miss Turf Scholarship Fund). Alternatively, entrants may make a contribution in lieu of club membership to the Turf Scholarship Fund.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram