France to Host 2022 World Amateur Team Championships
Le Golf National, the site of the 2018 Ryder Cup will be <br>one of two courses to host the 2022 competition <br>(Le Golf National Photo)
Le Golf National, the site of the 2018 Ryder Cup will be
one of two courses to host the 2022 competition
(Le Golf National Photo)

COUNTY KILDARE/DUBLIN, Ireland (September 4, 2018) - France has been selected as the site of the 2022 World Amateur Team Championships (WATC), the International Golf Federation (IGF) announced at its Biennial Meeting.

This will mark the third time the championships have been played in France. Previously, both the 1994 championships were played at Le Golf National (and La Boulie for the Eisenhower Trophy) and the inaugural Espirito Santo Trophy competition was played at St. Germain G.C. in 1964.

Le Golf National, site of the 2018 Ryder Cup Match, and Golf de Saint-Nom-La-Bretèche near Paris, will be the courses used for the championships.

The 30th women’s championship for the Espirito Santo Trophy and the 33rd men’s championship for the Eisenhower Trophy will be hosted by the French Golf Federation.

“Bringing the World Amateur Team Championships to France in 2022 is a direct reflection of its ability and commitment to host global golf events and a fantastic precursor to the Paris 2024 Olympic Games,” said IGF Executive Director Antony Scanlon. “We are quite sure the players will have a great experience in France.”

“Hosting major sporting events is in the DNA of France,” said Jean-Lou Charon, President of the French Golf Federation. “After the Ryder Cup in 2018, and before the Olympics Games in 2024, France will be very proud to host the WATC in 2022. The hosting of the WATC, one of the world’s most famous and legendary competitions, will be both a fantastic lever and a unifying event for all those involved in the development of the game of golf.

“The French Golf Federation’s commitment is total. Paris, Versailles, Saint-Nom-la-Bretèche Golf Club, Le Golf National, and the fervor of the general public as well as that of the 800,000 French golfers who are all eager to share their enthusiasm with the national golfing delegations from all over the globe.”

Both championships feature the world’s leading amateurs and are played over 72 holes of stroke play. Each country is represented by a team of two or three players.

The men’s competition of the 2018 World Amateur Team Championships, hosted by the Golfing Union of Ireland and the Irish Ladies Golf Union, will be played 5-8 September at Carton House (O’Meara and Montgomerie Courses) in County Kildare/Dublin, Ireland with 72 teams competing.

The 2018 Women’s World Amateur Team Championship concluded on 1 September with the United States of America claiming its 14th Espirito Santo Trophy, by 10 strokes over Japan. A record total of 57 teams competed in the championship.

The 2020 Championships will be played in Hong Kong, China.

The World Amateur Team Championships are a biennial international amateur golf competition conducted by the International Golf Federation, which comprises 151 national governing bodies of golf in 146 countries, and 22 international professional tours and organizations conducting major championships.

The IGF is recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) as the international federation for golf. In addition to the World Amateur Team Championships, the IGF also organizes the golf competitions at the Olympic Games and the Youth Olympic Games.

ABOUT THE Men's World Amateur Team

In 1958 the United States Golf Association asked The R&A to join them in sponsoring a world-wide amateur golf team event to be played biennially in non-Walker Cup years. Between 35 and 40 nations were represented at the first meeting and President Dwight D. Eisenhower presented the trophy which bears his name. The committee of the event was to be known as the World Amateur Golf Council and is now the International Golf Federation. Teams of four players from each country competed over 72 holes with the leading three scores from each round to count. The first competition was held between 29 nations at St Andrews, with Australia beating the United States in a play-off. In 2002 the format changed to teams of three with the two leading scores to count.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram