Anthony, Moore win the 2nd Annual Billy Bell Cup
Jason Anthony & Nick Moore prevailed at Del Rio
Jason Anthony & Nick Moore prevailed at Del Rio

MODESTO, CA (June 1, 2018) - Jason Anthony (Fairfield, CA) and Nick Moore (Seaside, CA) teamed up to win the 2nd annual Billy Bell Cup, with consecutive rounds of 6-under 66 at Del Rio Golf & Country Club.

Anthony, the San Francisco City champion, and last year's NCGA Public Links champ Moore sat one behind the overnight leaders Danny Paniccia (Fresno, CA) and Mike Stieler (Coarsegold, CA) who opened with a 7-under 65.

Paniccia and Stieler could only manage a 69 on Friday, and finished second, two shots back at 10-under 134.

Matt Cohn and Ryan Sloane (69-66) were third at 135, with Jeff Hughes and Chris Malone (69-70) fourth.

In the Super Senior division, Joey Ferrari (Stockton, CA) and Randy Haag (Orinda, CA) came from three shots back to win by two shots. Ferrari/Haag shot rounds of 68-67 for a 9-under 135 total.

Jeff Burda and Bryan Smith tied for second with Mark Morgan and Tony Padilla, with both teams shooting rounds of 69-68. Round one leaders Ken Noonan and Terry Foreman (65-72) also finished as joint runners-up.

In the Super Senior division, Kemp Richardson and Rob Adolph shot rounds of 67-72 for a five-shot win over Chuck Richesin and Bob Thomason (69-75).

View results for Billy Bell Cup

ABOUT THE Billy Bell Cup

Started in 2017, this 36-hole four-ball stroke play event is named in the honor of one of the West's most prolific golf course architects, William Bell, who designed DRCC's original eighteen holes, Oak and Bluff in 1947. There will be three flights: Open (18 years and older), Senior-Amateur (55 years and older) and Super Senior (65 years and older). Open to mid- amateurs within an index 7.4 or lower and seniors with an index 9.4 or lower. Maximum of 60 teams, 20 per flight.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube