Tee Times for the 29(!) Amateurs in the U.S. Women's Open
The 29 ams in the field will face a wet golf course at Shoal Creek (USGA photo)
The 29 ams in the field will face a wet golf course at Shoal Creek (USGA photo)

SHOAL CREEK, AL (May 30, 2018) - This week a group of 29 talented female golfers will represent the amateur game at the 73rd U.S. Women's Open Championship at Shoal Creek Golf & Country Club.

Nearly one-fifth of the 156-player field will be amateurs, which is a testament to the strength of the amateur game and their ability to compete with the best in the world.

Last year there were 21 amateurs in the field at Trump National Golf Club in Bedminster, New Jersey, and one of them--Korea's Hye-Jin Choi--flirted with becoming the first amateur to win the U.S. Women's Open in 50 years. Choi had a two-shot lead with 9 holes to go but ultimately finished runner-up to her countrywoman Sung-Hyun Park.

This year the amateur contingent includes the U.S. Amateur champion Sophia Schubert and runner-up Albane Valenzuela. And for the first time, the U.S. Women's Mid-Amateur (Kelsey Chugg) and U.S. Junior (Erica Shepherd) champions are exempt into the field.

Six players are ranked in the top 10 of the Golfweek/AmateurGolf.com Women's World Ranking: #2 Maria Fassi, #6 Patty Tavatanakit, #7 Andrea Lee, #8 Schubert, #9 Dylan Kim, and #10 Kristen Gillman.

The U.S. Women’s Open is a 72-hole, stroke-play competition. A field of 156 players will play 18 holes of stroke play on May 31 and June 1, after which the field will be reduced to the low 60 scores and ties. Those players making the cut will play 18 holes on June 2 and 3.

All Times CDT

Thursday (May 31), Hole #1 / Friday (June 1), Hole #10

6:40 a.m. / 12:20 p.m. – Casey Danielson, Osceola, Wis.; Sophie Walker, England; (a) Patty Tavatanakit, Thailand

6:51 a.m. / 12:31 p.m. – Becky Morgan, Wales; (a) Celia Barquin Arozamena, Spain; Wichanee Meechai, Thailand

7:13 a.m. / 12:53 p.m. – (a) Maria Fassi, Mexico; Mo Martin, Altadena, Calif.; Angela Stanford, Saginaw, Texas

8:19 a.m. / 1:59 p.m. – Julieta Granada, Paraguay; Sarah Kemp, Australia; (a) Kelsey Chugg, Salt Lake City, Utah

8:41 a.m. / 2:21 p.m. – Lee Lopez, Whittier, Calif.; Sun Young Yoo, Republic of Korea; (a) Hailee Cooper, Montgomery, Texas

8:52 a.m. / 2:32 p.m. – Sarah Schober, Austria; (a) Lei Ye, People’s Republic of China; Daniela Darquea, Ecuador

Thursday (May 31), Hole #10 / Friday (June 1), Hole #1

6:40 a.m. / 12:20 p.m. – Solar Lee, Republic of Korea; Jenny Suh, Fairfax, Va.; (a) Elizabeth Wang, San Marino, Calif.

6:51 a.m. / 12:31 p.m. – Klara Spilkova, Czech Republic; Daniela Holmqvist, Sweden; (a) Sophie Hausmann, Germany

7:02 a.m. / 12:42 p.m. – Pornanong Phatlum, Thailand; (a) Jennifer Chang, Cary, N.C.; Ayako Uehara, Japan

7:13 a.m. / 12:53 p.m. – Haru (Harukyo) Nomura, Japan; (a) Erica Shepherd, Greenwood, Ind.; Luna Sobron Galmes, Spain

8:08 a.m. / 1:48 p.m. – Emma Talley, Princeton, Ky.; Cydney Clanton, Concord, N.C.; (a) Kristen Gillman, Austin, Texas

8:19 a.m. / 1:59 pm. – (a) Albane Valenzuela, Switzerland; Candie Kung, Chinese Taipei; Jacqui Concolino, Orlando, Fla.

8:41 a.m. / 2:21 p.m. – (a) Yujeong Son, Republic of Korea; Paula Reto, South Africa; Tiffany Chan, Hong Kong China

8:52 a.m. / 2:32 p.m. – Grace Na, Oakland, Calif.; Yiyi Liu, People’s Republic of China; (a) Kaylee Benton, Litchfield Park, Ariz.

Thursday (May 31), Hole #1 / Friday (June 1), Hole #10

12:53 p.m. / 7:13 a.m. – Chella Choi, Republic of Korea; Jane Park, Woodstock, Ga.; (a) Andrea Lee, Hermosa Beach, Calif.

1:15 p.m. / 7:35 a.m. – Sung Hyun Park, Republic of Korea; In-Kyung Kim, Republic of Korea; (a) Sophia Schubert, Oak Ridge, Tenn.

1:59 p.m. / 8:19 a.m. – (a) Lucy Li, Redwood Shores, Calif.; Megan Khang, Rockland, Mass.; Jihyun Kim, Republic of Korea

2:10 p.m. / 8:30 a.m. – Catriona Matthew, Scotland; (a) Olivia Mehaffey, Ireland; Pei-Yun Chien, Chinese Taipei

2:21 p.m. / 8:41 a.m. – Katelyn Dambaugh, Goose Creek, S.C.; (a) Dylan Kim, Sachse, Texas; Giulia Molinaro, Italy

2:32 p.m. / 8:52 a.m. – Christine Song, Fullerton, Calif.; (a) Gaeun Song, Republic of Korea; (a) Olivia Cason, Owensboro, Ky.

Thursday (May 31), Hole #10 / Friday (June 1), Hole #1

12:20 p.m. – 6:40 a.m. – Ssu-Chia Cheng, Chinese Taipei; (a) Allisen Corpuz, Kapolei, Hawaii; Kaori Takayama, Japan

12:31 p.m. / 6:51 a.m. – (a) Emilia Migliaccio, Cary, N.C.; Xiyu Lin, People’s Republic of China; Emily Kristine Pedersen, Denmark

12:42 p.m. / 7:02 a.m. – Olafia Kristinsdottir, Iceland; Minami Hiruta, Japan; (a) Linn Grant, Sweden

12:53 p.m. / 7:13 a.m. – Hyojoo Kim, Republic of Korea; (a) Robyn Choi, Australia; Madelene Sagstrom, Sweden

1:59 p.m. / 8:19 a.m. – Su-Hyun Oh, Australia; (a) Gina Kim, Chapel Hill, N.C.; Saranporn Langkulgasettrin, Thailand

2:10 p.m. / 8:30 a.m. – Jing Yan, People’s Republic of China; (a) Celeste Dao, Canada; Nannette Hill, Pelham Manor, N.Y.

2:21 p.m. / 8:41 a.m. – Hyun Kyung Park, Republic of Korea; Maria Hernandez, Spain; (a) Dana Williams, Boca Raton, Fla.

2:32 p.m. / 8:52 a.m. – (a) Evelyn Arguelles, Mexico; Britney Yada, Hilo, Hawaii; Martina Edberg, Sweden

ABOUT THE U.S. Women's Open

The U.S. Women's Open is the biggest tournament in women's golf and one of 14 national championships conducted by the USGA. The event is open to any female who has a USGA Handicap Index not exceeding 4.4.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram