Matthew Perrine wins the Byron Nelson Award
20 Apr 2018
by AmateurGolf.com Staff

see also: Matthew Perrine Rankings

Matthew Perrine (Golf Channel screen shot)
Matthew Perrine (Golf Channel screen shot)

NORMAN, OK (April 20, 2018) - Matthew Perrine of Austin, TX is the recipient of the Byron Nelson Award, the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) announced today.

The Baylor University senior was chosen by a selection committee who considered not only Perrine's college golf and academic performance, but also his character, integrity, and good citizenship, all attributes that Byron Nelson so prominently displayed throughout his golf career and life.

"It's an extreme honor to win this award," Perrine told the Golf Channel. "Mr. Nelson was one of the greatest golfers in the history of the game, but not only that, he was known as one of the greatest gentlemen in the game. To be on the short list of student-athletes who have won this award with the extremely great legacy and name of Mr. Nelson is a huge honor for me."

Perrine has become a mainstay in Baylor's lineup, playing in 33 straight tournaments for the Bears. 28 of his 30 competitive rounds have counted towards Baylor's team score. He currently has a 71.17 stroke average, with over half of his rounds at par or better.

His best finish this season has been a third place in the Valspar Collegiate. He was the co-medalist in the 2016 Royal Oaks Intercollegiate.

Perrine has qualified for two of the last three U.S. Amateurs, making the quarterfinals in 2015 when it was played at Olympia Fields in Illinois. That season he also had top-10 finishes in the Dogwood, Palmetto and Texas Amateurs. He is currently ranked #45 in the Golfweek/AmateurGolf.com World Amateur Ranking.

His golf honors include being named a 2016-17 PING Third-Team All-American, a Srixon/Cleveland Golf All-America Scholar and two-time First Team Academic Big 12.

Academically, Perrine, a business major, is a four-time member of the Big 12 Commissioner’s Honor Roll and three-time Baylor Dean’s List selection.

In the community, Perrine has been active with Feed My Starving Children and the Jason Dufner Foundation. Last fall he organized and hosted a bingo night for residents at a retirement community in Waco, Texas.

Previous Byron Nelson Award winners include Maverick McNealy (2017), Brandon Hagy (2014), Dylan Fritteli (2012), Michael Putnam (2005), Billy Hurley (2004), Troy Matteson (2003) and Jason Allred (2002).

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram