A Trio of Players win Oregon TOC Titles
Men's Division winner Blake Seabaugh <br>(OGA Photo)
Men's Division winner Blake Seabaugh
(OGA Photo)

ALOHA, ORE. (April 8, 2018) ­­– Blake Seabaugh (Tigard, Ore.), Gretchen Johnson (Portland, Ore.), and Pat O’Donnell (Happy Valley, Ore.) all won divisional titles this weekend at the 74th OGA Tournament of Champions, held April 7-8 at The Reserve Vineyards and Golf Club – South Course in Aloha, Ore.

The event featured club champions of OGA Member Clubs from the past two years, including recent champions of OGA Championships and participants in OGA team events from the last two years.

Seabaugh is a former Oregon Amateur champion, winning the event in 2008, and had success in last year’s Oregon Amateur, advancing to the semifinals. After firing an even-par 72 on Saturday, Seabaugh played the final round with Robbie Ziegler (Portland, Ore.) and Sean Collopy (Lake Oswego, Ore.). The three battled throughout the day, with Seabaugh and Ziegler entering the 36th hole tied at even-par. Seabaugh birdied the par-5 18th, while Ziegler bogeyed it, giving Seabaugh a two-shot victory.

Seabaugh finished with rounds of 72-71 – 143 (-1). Ziegler finished in second, shooting 73-72 – 145 (+1) and Collopy earned third place, shooting 71-75 – 146 (+2). Last year’s Oregon Junior Amateur champion, Craig Ronne (Klamath Falls, Ore.) and 2017 Oregon Mid-Amateur winner Jack Dukeminier (Beaverton, Ore.) tied for fourth place at 3-over par (147).

Johnson, the defending Women’s champion from a year ago, battled back from a tough first-round 82 on Saturday to shoot a 1-over 73 on Sunday, including birdies on two of her final four holes. Her teammate in the past two Oregon Amateur Four-Ball Championships, Amanda Jacobs (Portland, Ore.), birdied the 36th hole to force a playoff between the two. After four holes, Johnson defeated Jacobs to win her second-consecutive Tournament of Champions title.

Johnson and Jacobs finished the Championship at 11-over par (155). Last year’s Oregon Junior Amateur and Oregon Junior Stroke Play winner Ellie Slama (Salem, Ore.) earned third place with scores of 81-76 – 157 (+13). Lara Tennant (Portland, Ore.) and Samantha Miller (Portland, Ore.) tied for fourth at 17-over par (161).

In the Senior Men’s Division, O’Donnell entered Sunday’s final round two shots back of first-round leader Denny Taylor (Gladstone, Ore.). Last year’s Oregon Senior Men’s Stroke Play champion finished strong, playing the final six holes at 2-under par, and eventually found himself in a playoff with Byron Patton (Tigard, Ore.) at 5-over par (149). Patton won last year’s Senior Men’s title at the Oregon Amateur Four-Ball Championship.

The playoff only lasted one hole, as O’Donnell secured his first Senior Men’s title at the Tournament of Champions. O’Donnell fired scores of 76-73 – 149, while Patton shot 77-72 – 149 (+5). Taylor earned third place, shooting 74-77 – 151 (+7), while Michael Jackson (Redmond, Ore.) finished in fourth by firing two rounds of 80-72 – 152 (+8).

View results for Oregon TOC


Entrants must be the Men's or Women's Club Champion of an OGA regular member club or the individual gross champion of any Championship on the current OGA Men's or Women's performance points list. Club Champions must be members in good standing of the club they are representing. All champions must be OGA members to be eligible for the OGA Tournament of Champions.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92009

Instagram X Facebook YouTube