BYU rallies to William H. Tucker Intercollegiate Title
Peter Kuest led BYU <br>(BYU Athletics Photo)
Peter Kuest led BYU
(BYU Athletics Photo)

ALBUQUERQUE, NM (September 23, 2017) - On a day where most the field moved backwards BYU teamed for a 2-under final round to finish 8-over and as the 2017 winners of the William H. Tucker Intercollegiate at the UNM Championship Course.

Arizona (+12) took second place, Washington (+13) placed third, 36-hole leading No. 12 UNLV (+14) ended up fourth while Colorado State (+17) took fifth.

Playing in the their first tournament of the season BYU was led on Saturday by sophomore Peter Kuest. During the final round Kuest fired a 6-under 66 to finish 5-under and in second place. Starting on the 2nd hole, Kuest, who won the WCC Championship Individual title last year, began his day with his first of five birdies against just one bogey and ended his round with an eagle on the par-5 1st.

The Cougars also got a big lift from senior stalwart Patrick Fishburn. Coming off a junior year that included a win at the Pacific Invitational and 10 top-10 finishes, Fishburn closed with a 2-under 69 to finish fifth at 1-under.

BYU charge to the title was helped along by CJ Lee (T28; +7) and Rhett Rasmussen (T28: +28).

In the medalist race George Cunningham of Arizona sealed the deal thanks to a final round 3-under 69. Following tallies of 70-69 on Friday Cunningham posted an 8-under score for the tournament and a three-stroke triumph.

A highly touted recruit out of high school, Cunningham was named to the All Pac-12 Second Team as a freshman but it wasn't until the first tournament of his senior year that he was able to break into the winners circle.

Teeing off on the opening hole, Cunningham started his round with a birdie and continued his stellar play with four more birdies and just two bogeys.

Kuest finished second, Washington's Carl Yuan was third at 4-under, PJ Samiere of San Diego State was fourth at 2-under while Fishburn took fifth.

Results: William H. Tucker Intercollegiate
1AZGeorge CunninghamTuscon, AZ60070-69-69=208
2CAPeter KuestFresno, CA40070-75-66=211
3ChinaCarl YuanChina30071-73-68=212
4HIP.J. SamiereKailua, HI30074-71-69=214
T5UTPatrick FishburnOgden, UT30070-75-70=215

View full results for William H. Tucker Intercollegiate

ABOUT THE William H. Tucker Intercollegiate

54 hole men's college tournament hosted by the University of New Mexico. Team (best four scores out of five players each round) and individual competitions.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram