USGA Accepts 4,386 Entries for 37th U.S. Mid-Amateur
Stewart Hagestad (L) beat Scott Harvey (R) in an epic 37 hole final last year<br>(USGA photo)
Stewart Hagestad (L) beat Scott Harvey (R) in an epic 37 hole final last year
(USGA photo)

ATLANTA, GA (August 25, 2017) - Seven champions, including reigning title holder and 2017 USA Walker Cup competitor Stewart Hagestad, were among the 4,386 entries accepted by the USGA for the 37th U.S. Mid-Amateur Championship, scheduled for Oct. 7-12 at Capital City Club’s Crabapple Course in Atlanta, Ga., and Atlanta National Golf Club.

The total is the sixth-highest in championship history. Besides the seven past champions, 22 other competitors are fully exempt into the championship. The U.S. Mid-Amateur, which includes a 264-player field, is open to any amateur golfer with a Handicap Index® not exceeding 3.4 and who is 25 years of age at the start of championship play.

Besides Hagestad, who rallied to defeat 2014 champion Scott Harvey in a memorable 37-hole final match last fall on the West and Old courses at Stonewall in Elverson, Pa., the other past champions exempt into the championship include Randal Lewis (2011), Michael McCoy (2013), Sammy Schmitz (2015), Nathan Smith (2003, 2009, 2010, 2012), Steve Wilson (2008) and Harvey. Smith, who also won the 2015 U.S. Amateur Four-Ball Championship with partner and exempt player Todd White, is the lone player to win four U.S. Mid-Amateur titles.

“We look forward to bringing the U.S. Mid-Amateur Championship to Capital City Club and Atlanta National Golf Club for the first time,” said Stuart Francis, USGA Championship Committee chairman. “Amateur golf is central to the USGA’s mission and both clubs will be excellent hosts. The number of entries demonstrates the great interest in competing for the Robert T. Jones Jr. Memorial Trophy in Mr. Jones’s home state.”

Sectional qualifying, contested over 18 holes at 64 sites across the United States, began Aug. 15 and continues until Sept. 14. There are qualifying sites in 40 states, including seven in California, four in Texas and three in Florida, Illinois, New York, Ohio and Pennsylvania.

Georgia will host two sectional qualifiers. Capital City Club’s Brookhaven Course, in Atlanta, will host the first qualifier on Sept. 6. Rivermont Golf and Country Club, in Johns Creek, will host the second qualifier on Sept. 12.

The USGA accepted entries from golfers in all 50 states, including 328 from Georgia, and the District of Columbia, as well as 21 foreign countries. The record for entries was established in 1997, when 5,271 golfers applied to play.

This will be the third U.S. Mid-Amateur Championship played in Georgia. Michael Podolak won at Atlanta Athletic Club’s Highlands Course in 1984. Austin Eaton III captured the 2004 Mid-Amateur title at Sea Island Golf Club’s Seaside Course.

Capital City Club’s Crabapple Course is hosting its first USGA championship. The club has previously hosted the 2013 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championship. The NCAA team championship was won by the University of Alabama, while the University of California’s Max Homa, a member of the victorious 2013 USA Walker Cup Team, was the individual champion. In 2003, the club hosted the WGC-American Express Championship, which was won by nine-time USGA champion Tiger Woods.

Online entries opened on May 3, and Christopher Meinke, a 30-year-old from Westport, Conn., was the first entrant. Justin Young, a 39-year-old from Salem, Va., submitted his entry 40 seconds before the deadline of 5 p.m. EDT on Aug. 9.

The list of the 29 golfers who are fully exempt into the 2017 U.S. Mid-Amateur (as of Aug. 9):

Joe Alfieri
David Bolen
Claudio Consul
Joseph Deraney
Marc Dull
Robert Funk
Stewart Hagestad*
Doug Hanzel
Scott Harvey*
Joshua Irving
Randal Lewis*
David May
Michael McCoy*
Michael McDermott
Ghanzanfar Mehmood
Michael Muehr
Brad Nurski
Matt Parziale
Dave Ryan
Sammy Schmitz*
Andres Schonbaum
Nathan Smith*
Scott Strickland
Matthew Sughrue
Dan Sullivan
Justin Tereshko
Brad Wilder
Steve Wilson*
Todd White

*U.S. Mid-Amateur past champion

ABOUT THE U.S. Mid-Amateur

The U.S. Mid-Amateur originated in 1981 for the amateur golfer of at least 25 years of age, the purpose of which to provide a formal national championship for the post-college player. 264 players begin the championship with two rounds of sroke play qualifying held at two courses, after which the low 64 (with a playoff if necessary to get the exact number) advance to single elimination match play.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram