Ohio Senior Hall of Fame: Third Win for T.J. Brudzinski
T.J. Brudzinski, the 2017 Ohio Senior Hall of Fame champion
T.J. Brudzinski, the 2017 Ohio Senior Hall of Fame champion

SANDUSKY, OH (August 8, 2017) - T.J. Brudzinski closed with a 65 to pass eight players and win the 26th playing of the Ohio Senior Amateur Hall of Fame Championship at Plum Brook Country Club.

It was the third win in this event for Brudzinski.

Doug Lockwood and Raymond Sovik led after the first round after shooting 68, one shot ahead of the defending champion Tim Ford, with five players another shot back at 70. Brudzinski shot a 73 and was five shots back.

Playing ahead of the leaders, Brudzinski posted his score and watched it hold up, as Lockwood (71) and Ford (70) fell just one shot short at 139.

Sovik (74) fell to a fourth place tie with Michael Kelley (73-69) at 142.

Ford's win last year came on the strength of a sudden-death playoff with Buck Bauman, Mark Mickley, and Mike Cassell. Ford’s two-day total of 143 was one of the highest winning scores in the history of the tournament. It tied the number posted by 2008 champion, Toledo’s Alan Fadel . One has to retreat 17 years to find a higher total only proving that Plum Brook, although just 6,448 yards in length, playing to a par 71, stands up to the best players in the Midwest.

View results for Ohio Senior Hall of Fame

ABOUT THE Ohio Senior Hall of Fame

The 54-hole championship is open to any player 50 or older with an established handicap. Lucrative pro shop certificates are awarded to both gross and net winners and placers in five different age categories which makes the tournament very fair for everyone involved. Those age groups are 50-54, 55-59, 60-64, 65-69 and 70-up. Players over 70 have the option of playing in a special Super Senior class.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram