Greve Successfully Defends His Minnesota Open Title
Thanks to the Minnesota PGA for this report.

STILLWATER, MN (July 23, 2017)—History was made on the final day of the Minnesota State Open presented by Treasure Island Resort & Casino. Ben Greve of Minneapolis G.C. won his second consecutive Minnesota State Open title with an impressive 15-under 201 three-day total.

He joins an exclusive club of repeat winners and becomes the first to do so since John Harris did in 1994-95. Tom Lehman was also a back-to-back champion in 1989-90.

“To join two of, if not, the biggest names in Minnesota golf history is special,” Greve emphasized. “Being associated with those two in any way is awesome.”

Greve wasted no time building his lead on the final day; birdieing three of his first five holes to quickly move to 14-under and hold a four shot lead over Casey Vangsness of Minnewaska G.C.

His only blunder of the day came on the par-4 6th. An errant second shot went sailing over the green and was followed up by a three-putt that led to a double-bogey. This shrank his lead to just two.

After that, he responded tremendously with short birdies at the par-4 8th and par-3 9th to make the turn at 14-under, four shots ahead.

With two more birdies on the par-5 11th and par-4 13th, Greve separated himself from the field and cruised to his second consecutive title.

Both titles hold significant merit, but this one might mean slightly more to the amateur, “Everyone played the same amount of holes last year but it was an odd year where you only had two rounds,” he said. “To be in the last group and have a lead this time, and to still play well, that means a lot.”

Jon DuToit of Chaska T.C. finished second five shots back at 10-under 206. He claimed low professional honors.

View results for Minnesota State Open
ABOUT THE Minnesota State Open

Beginning in 1917, the Minnesota State Open is a premiere golf tournament bringing together top professional and amateur players all vying to have their name included with the likes of Les Bolstad, George Shortridge, and Tom Lehman as past champions. An 18-hole qualifier is required for those who do not meet the exemption criteria. Format will be 54-holes of stroke play with a cut to the low 60 and ties after 36 holes.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram