Iowa Masters: Another Win for Elliott
Gene Elliott's Iowa Masters win was his third, the same<br>number of Iowa state titles he has won this year
Gene Elliott's Iowa Masters win was his third, the same
number of Iowa state titles he has won this year

AMES, IA (July 9, 2017) - Gene Elliott of West Des Moines won his third Iowa Masters title, and his third Iowa state title this year, edging out four-time champion Jon Brown of Clive by two shots at Veenker Memorial Golf Course.

Elliott had rounds of 66-69-70 for an 11-under total of 205. Brown had three straight rounds of 69 for finish at 9 under.

Trevor Ullestad of Jewell was alone in third, six shots behind Elliott at five-under 211, while Jon Olson of Ankeny finished solo fourth at four-under 212.

It was Elliott's third Iowa Masters title, having first won the event in 2009 and then again in 2015. It was also Elliott's third Iowa state title of the year, having won the Iowa Senior Match Play, and also the Iowa Four-Ball with partner Mike McCoy.

McCoy, a two-time champion (2012, 2013) in the Iowa Masters, finished tied for 12th at 221, five over par.

View results for Iowa Masters

ABOUT THE Iowa Masters

The Iowa Masters is an invitational 54-hole stroke play golf tournament sponsored by Veenker Memorial Golf Course and Facilities Planning and Management of Iowa State University. The Iowa Masters is one of the Iowa Golf Association’s “major” tournaments that determine the IGA Amateur, Senior Amateur and Super Senior Amateur of the Year awards. The tournament is scheduled to be contested over 54 holes with all competitors playing both Friday and Saturday. Following the second round, a cut is made to determine the field for the final round.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Instagram X Facebook YouTube