Maddie Szeryk Wins the Women's Western Amateur
Maddie Szeryk, the 2017 Women's Western Amateur champion<br>(WWGA photos)
Maddie Szeryk, the 2017 Women's Western Amateur champion
(WWGA photos)

ELMHURST, IL (June 17, 2017) - Maddie Szeryk of London, Ontario Canada won the Women's Western Amateur Championship, with a 3&1 win in the final match at River Forest Country Club.

Szeryk, who just finished her junior year at Texas A&M University and who is a member of Canada's National Amateur Team, defeated Dylan Kim of Sachse, TX in the 36-hole final match. It was a well-played match, particularly in the morning round, where Szeryk had six birdies and had the equivalent of a five-under-par round to take a three hole lead into the afternoon. Kim too played well, making birdie on all four par threes in the morning round and shooting three under par.

But Kim, who finished her sophomore season at Baylor University but intends to transfer to another school, never got closer to two down from that point onward. Skeryk's lead was two holes with two to play, and when Kim could not win the seventeenth, she conceded the hole and the final margin was 3&1.

Both players shot one-under 143 in stroke play qualifying, second only to the medalist Allisen Corpuz of Waipahu, Hawaii.

They then proceeded to win five matches each to reach the final. In the semifinals, Kim beat Sarah White of Calrdonia, MI 5&4 while Szeryk birdied the eighteenth hole to hold off Sophia Schubert of Oak Ridge, TN.

Results For Women's Western Amateur Golf Championship
WinCanadaMaddie SzerykCanada1200
Runner-upTXDylan KimSachse, TX900
SemifinalsMISarah WhiteCaledonia, MI700
SemifinalsTNSophia SchubertOak Ridge, TN700
QuarterfinalsCAStephanie LauFullerton, CA500

View full results for Women's Western Amateur Golf Championship

ABOUT THE Women's Western Amateur

Field: Limited to the low 144 players. Foreign entries are welcome. Format: Match Play. Tournament played at scratch. 36-hole stroke-play qualifying round. Low 64 qualifiers shall constitute the Championship flight with the final round being 36 holes. All other players will qualify into flights of 16 with the final round being 18 holes. No consolation. Entry Requirements: Entries are open to amateur golfers who (1) were females at birth, (2) have an 18-hole USGA Handicap Index of 10.4 or less, (3) are members of a golf club or golf organization/association that is a current member of the WWGA. Caddies: All players shall walk. A player may provide her own caddie, carry her bag or employ a club caddie, if available. A player may caddie for another player. Awards: W. A. Alexander Cup – Champion; ‘Babe’ Didrikson Zaharias Memorial Trophy – Finalist; Margaret Lenz Trophy – Medalist; Augustus Maschmeyer Cup – four players from the same state; Derby Cup – two players from the same club.

View Complete Tournament Information

Latest in 

Amateurgolf.com, Inc.
6965 El Camino Real 105-631
Carlsbad, CA 92011

Facebook Twitter YouTube